The Face at the Window

The Face at the Window

Robert A'Dair
Director: George King Cast: Robert A'Dair
Robert A'Dair
, Wallace Evennett
Wallace Evennett
, Bill Shine
Bill Shine
George King

DVD (Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 19


As with any film featuring the outrageously operatic antics of early horror star Tod Slaughter, this slow, stagebound murder-mystery would be completely unwatchable without the producer-star's presence. A third adaptation of the stage play by F. Brooke Warren, this film stars Slaughter as Chevalier Lucio del Gardo, a respected Parisian aristocrat responsible for the ghastly crimes previously attributed to a notorious killer known only as "The Wolf." Del Gardo has concocted a devious plan with his deranged, brutish brother to pull off a rash of bank robberies, using The Wolf's murderous ways to throw police off their trail. Their plans are foiled in the end, though del Gardo apparently escapes the clutches of the law. One of Slaughter's better efforts, made bearable by a brief running time.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/06/2020
UPC: 0738329250546
Original Release: 1939
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:05:00
Sales rank: 31,897

Special Features

Audio Commentary by Film Historian/Author Jean-Claude Michel; Trailers

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Robert A'Dair Inspector Guffert
Wallace Evennett Prof. le Blanc
Bill Shine Actor
Harry Terry The Face
Margaret Yarde Le Pinan
Kay Lewis Babette
Leonard Henry Gaston
Aubrey Mallalieu De Brisson
Tod Slaughter Chevalier Del Gardo
Marjorie Taylor Cecile de Brisson
John Warwick Lucien Cortier

Technical Credits
George King Director,Producer
Jack Beaver Score Composer
Randall H. Faye Screenwriter
Hone Glendinning Cinematographer
Julius Hagen Producer
Jack Harris Editor
Hal Mason Asst. Director
A.R. Rawlinson Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Face at the Window
255. Chapters
1. Chapter 1 [9:13]
2. Chapter 2 [6:39]
3. Chapter 3 [10:02]
4. Chapter 4 [8:58]
5. Chapter 5 [6:58]
6. Chapter 6 [7:12]
7. Chapter 7 [8:00]
8. Chapter 8 [7:30]

Customer Reviews