The Crooked Way

The Crooked Way

John Payne
Director: Robert Florey Cast: John Payne
John Payne
, Sonny Tufts
Sonny Tufts
, Ellen Drew
Ellen Drew
Robert Florey

DVD (Remastered)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 21


Postwar films were festooned with amnesiac ex-GIs who found themselves mixed up with crime. In The Crooked Way, John Payne plays memory-deficient veteran Eddie Rice, who runs afoul of mobster Vince Alexander (Sonny Tufts) and police inspector Lt. Williams (Rhys Williams). Both the crooks and the cops seem to have good reason to despise Rice, and he'd like to find out why. He won't get any help from his wife Nina (Ellen Drew), however, since she is as hostile towards Rice as everyone else. Gradually, Rice puts the pieces together and discovers that he's far better off not remembering his former self. Film noir habitues Percy Helton, John Doucette and Greta Grandstedt are eminently suited to their minor roles. The Crooked Way was based on "No Blade Too Sharp," a radio drama by Robert Monroe.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/08/2015
UPC: 0738329154127
Original Release: 1949
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 41,615

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Payne Eddie Rice
Sonny Tufts Vince Alexander
Ellen Drew Nina
Rhys Williams Lt. Williams
Percy Helton Petey
John Doucette Sgt. Barrett
Charles Evans Capt. Anderson
Greta Granstedt Hazel
Harry Bronson Danny
Hal Fieberling Coke
Crane Whitley Dr. Kemble
John Harmon Kelly
Harry "Snub" Pollard Newsboy

Technical Credits
Robert Florey Director
John Alton Cinematographer
Benedict E. Bogeaus Producer
Louis Forbes Score Composer
Joseph Kish Set Decoration/Design
Richard Landau Screenwriter
Van Nest Polglase Production Designer
Frank Sullivan Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Crooked Way
1. Chapter 1 [:11]
2. Chapter 2 [9:11]
3. Chapter 3 [8:57]
4. Chapter 4 [11:40]
5. Chapter 5 [16:55]
6. Chapter 6 [15:13]
7. Chapter 7 [9:34]
8. Chapter 8 [9:29]
9. Chapter 9 [8:16]

Customer Reviews