Pub. Date:
The BFG: Big Friendly Giant

The BFG: Big Friendly Giant

David Jason
Director: Brian Cosgrove Cast: David Jason
David Jason
, Amanda Root
Amanda Root
, Angela Thorne
Angela Thorne
Brian Cosgrove

DVD (Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 29


A lonely orphan girl makes a most unusual friend as best-selling children's author Roald Dahl's timeless story comes to life in an animated effort that was nominated for Best Children's Program by the Academy of Film and Television. A twenty-five foot prince who harvests the dreams of Dream Country and blows them into the minds of children with his magical trumpet, the Big Friendly Giant is troubled to learn that some of the less friendly giants of the land have left many English boys and girls unable to rest soundly in their beds at night. Now determined to put a stop to the frightening activities of the gargantuan grumps, the Big Friendly Giant joins forces with young orphan Sophie to seek out the aid of Her Majesty the Queen and deliver the most spectacular dreams imaginable to the children who now sleep safely nestled away from the threat of the towering monsters who had once filled their hearts with fear and dread.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/05/2016
UPC: 0841887029018
Original Release: 1989
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 3,619

Special Features

Never-before-seen Roald Dahl documentary; Before/after restoration video

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
David Jason Voice Only
Amanda Root Voice Only
Angela Thorne Voice Only
Ballard Berkeley Voice Only
Michael Knowles Voice Only
Don Henderson Voice Only
Mollie Sugden Voice Only
Jimmy Hibbert Voice Only
Frank Thornton Voice Only

Technical Credits
Brian Cosgrove Director,Producer
Mark Hall Producer
John Hambley Executive Producer,Screenwriter
Keith Hopwood Score Composer
Malcolm Rowe Score Composer
Nigel Rutter Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Roald Dahl's The BFG
1. Chapter 1 [10:35]
2. Chapter 2 [9:38]
3. Chapter 3 [9:41]
4. Chapter 4 [9:58]
5. Chapter 5 [10:10]
6. Chapter 6 [10:08]
7. Chapter 7 [9:43]
8. Chapter 8 [9:44]
9. Chapter 9 [7:59]
10. Chapter 10 [:01]

Customer Reviews