Tennessee Johnson

Tennessee Johnson

Van Heflin
Director: William Dieterle Cast: Van Heflin
Van Heflin
, Ruth Hussey
Ruth Hussey
, Lionel Barrymore
Lionel Barrymore
William Dieterle

Blu-ray (Subtitled / Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


The tumultuous presidency of 17th-president Andrew Johnson is chronicled in this biopic. The story begins with Johnson's boyhood and covers his early life. During the Civil War, Johnson stays a staunch Unionist and upon Lincoln's reelection in 1864, becomes his Vice President. After Lincoln's assassination, Johnson becomes the President.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2020
UPC: 0883929727056
Original Release: 1942
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:43:00
Sales rank: 19,175

Special Features

Screen Guild Radio Broadcast 7/5/43 with Gary Cooper and Ruth Hussey; Classic Tom & Jerry cartoon Baby Puss; Classic MGM short Heavenly Music; Theatrical trailer; 1080p High Definition; English SDH subtitles

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Van Heflin Andrew Johnson
Ruth Hussey Eliza McCardle
Lionel Barrymore Thad Stevens
Marjorie Main Mrs. Fisher
Regis Toomey McDaniel
J. Edward Bromberg Coke
Grant Withers Mordecai Milligan
Alec Craig Andrews
Charles Dingle Sen. Jim Waters
Carl Benton Reid Congressman Hargrove
Russell Hicks Emissary
Noah Beery Sheriff Cass
Robert Warwick Maj. Crooks
Montagu Love Chief Justice Chase
Lloyd Corrigan Mr. Secretary
William Farnum Senator Huyler
Lynne Carver Martha
Russell Simpson Kirby
Morris Ankrum Jefferson Davis
Roy Barcroft Officer on Crutches
Louise Beavers Addie
Harlan Briggs Actor
Frederick Burton Actor
Dane Clark Wirts
William B. Davidson Vice President Breckenridge
Jim Davis Actor
Porter Hall The Weasel
Brandon Hurst Actor
Frank Jaquet Actor
Sheldon Leonard Atzerodt
Jack Norton Drunk
Robert E. O'Connor Robinson
Pat O'Malley Reporter
Ed O'Neill Abraham Lincoln
Lee Phelps Deputy
Allen Pomeroy Actor
Charles Ray Actor
William Roberts Actor
Hugh Sothern Actor
Emmett Vogan Actor
Harry Worth John Wilkes Booth
William Wright Alderman
Duke York Assassin
Charles Trowbridge Lansbury

Technical Credits
William Dieterle Director
John L. Balderston Screenwriter
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
Robert J. Kern Editor
Warren Newcombe Special Effects
Wells Root Screenwriter
Harold Hal Rosson Cinematographer
J. Walter Ruben Producer
Herbert Stothart Score Composer
Edwin B. Willis Set Decoration/Design

Customer Reviews