Tales from Earthsea

Tales from Earthsea

Bunta Sugawara
Director: Goro Miyazaki Cast: Bunta Sugawara
Bunta Sugawara
, Timothy Dalton
Timothy Dalton
, Junichi Okada
Junichi Okada
Goro Miyazaki

DVD (Wide Screen)

$15.99 $19.99 Save 20% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Animator Goro Miyazaki, son of the famous Hayao Miyazaki ("The Walt Disney of Japan"), makes his directorial debut with the animated feature Tales from Earthsea (aka Gedo Senki). Miyazaki loosely adapted the work from the third and fourth volumes in best-selling sci-fi author Ursula K. Le Guin's infamous series of cult novels -- all set in Earthsea, a Tolkien-esque fantasy realm. Gedo Senki opens at a point when Earthsea is deteriorating rapidly, and the power of magic is waning -- tendencies signaled by the sudden, frightening reappearance of dragons in the land of humankind. Ged Sparrowhawk was once a lowly goat herder but is now known as Lord Archmage, the most powerful of all wizards. He soon meets Prince Arren of Enlad -- a teenage boy chased by a "shadow," the force that is tipping the world out of balance and driving innumerable people to the point of insanity. The men team up and journey to Hort Town, the Earthsea capital city, where they find the entire community turned upside down -- craftsmen have abandoned their trades, slavery runs rampant, addicts clamor in the streets. They ultimately find refuge in the priestess Tenar's palace, also occupied by the scarred orphan girl Therru. While the latter initially avoids Arren in fear of his "dark side," Arren bides his time in the nearby fields, being mentored by Ged on the balance of creation. Therru eventually opens up to Arren, but he grows increasingly disturbed by nightmares about being chased by the shadow, and his daytime fear of it grows absolutely overwhelming. Ged then discovers that the cause of the kingdom-wide "imbalance" is actually his old arch nemesis, the wizard Cob, who has opened up the gateway between the living and the dead, and hopes to attain eternal life, meanwhile plotting to murder Ged in vengeance for an act he committed long ago. In fear of his evil self, Arren absconds from Tenar's palace -- actively fleeing from the shadow -- but ultimately faints and turns up at the castle of Cob. The latter's minions give their guest "hazia," which causes him to lose his bearings and tell Cob his real name. Arren thus becomes enslaved to the wizard. Meanwhile, Ged and Therru turn up, and bring Arren back to full awareness. With their assistance, he is able to surmount the temptation of eternal life; he then does an about face, and, with the assistance of an enchanted sword, prepares to do battle with Cob.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/06/2018
UPC: 0826663181630
Original Release: 2006
Rating: PG-13
Source: Shout Factory
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:56:00
Sales rank: 14,512

Special Features

Original Theatrical Trailers; TV Spots

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Bunta Sugawara Ged (Japanese)
Timothy Dalton Sparrowhawk (English)
Junichi Okada Prince Arren (Japanese)
Matt Levin Arren (English)
Blaire Restaneo Therru (English)
Aoi Teshima Theru (Japanese)
Teruyuki Kagawa Usagi (Japanese)
Cheech Marin Hare (English)
Yuko Tanaka Cob (Japanese)
Willem Dafoe Cob (English)
Jun Fubuki Tenar (Japanese)
Mariska Hargitay Tenar (English)
Kaoru Kobayashi The King (Japanese)
Mitsuko Baisho Vendor (Japanese)
Takashi Naito Hazia dealer (Japanese)
Yui Natsukawa The Queen (Japanese)

Technical Credits
Goro Miyazaki Director,Screenwriter
Motohiro Hatanaka Casting
Shuji Inoue Sound Mixer
Keiko Itogawa Special Effects
Keiko Niwa Screenwriter
Ayumi Sato Casting
Takeshi Seyama Editor
Toshio Suzuki Producer
Chikako Takahashi Musical Direction/Supervision
Yoji Takeshige Art Director
Tamiya Terashima Score Composer
Nobue Yoshinaga Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Tales from Earthsea
1. Chapter 1 [6:53]
2. Chapter 2 [6:53]
3. Chapter 3 [:10]
4. Chapter 4 [:10]
5. Chapter 5 [3:15]
6. Chapter 6 [5:27]
7. Chapter 7 [4:29]
8. Chapter 8 [5:10]
9. Chapter 9 [2:34]
10. Chapter 10 [4:02]
11. Chapter 11 [6:54]
12. Chapter 12 [4:42]
13. Chapter 13 [2:58]
14. Chapter 14 [4:37]
15. Chapter 15 [8:13]
16. Chapter 16 [2:59]
17. Chapter 17 [1:36]
18. Chapter 18 [6:14]
19. Chapter 19 [5:48]
20. Chapter 20 [3:40]
21. Chapter 21 [2:33]
22. Chapter 22 [3:47]
23. Chapter 23 [3:30]
24. Chapter 24 [6:04]
25. Chapter 25 [5:22]
26. Chapter 26 [3:22]

Customer Reviews