Pub. Date:
Sword of Honour

Sword of Honour

Daniel Craig
Director: Bill Anderson Cast: Daniel Craig
Daniel Craig
, Megan Dodds
Megan Dodds
Bill Anderson

DVD (Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


First adapted as a three-part TV miniseries by the BBC in 1967, Evelyn Waugh's darkly humorous novel trilogy Sword of Honour was remade as a two-parter by Britain's Channel 4 34 years later. On this occasion, Daniel Craig was cast as Waugh's hapless protagonist Guy Crouchback, a WWII-era British soldier who aspired to nobility and heroism, if only to prove that he was worthy of his shrewish ex-wife Virginia (played by American actress Megan Dodds). Alas, the harder Guy tried to distinguish himself on the field of battle, the more he failed, and as an ironic counterpart, Guy's fellow soldiers, most of them cowardly liars, continued to be promoted and showered with military honors. Even when he finally was given the opportunity to prove his worth beyond question and reproach, Guy succeeded only in miring himself in yet another disappointment and humiliation. Grim though it sounded, Sword of Honour was quite funny in its own bitter fashion, even when using betrayal and death as a "punch line." The program aired in Britain on January 2 and 3, 2001.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2006
UPC: 0054961880690
Original Release: 2001
Source: Acorn
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 3:13:00
Sales rank: 33,279

Special Features

Evelyn Waugh biography and cast filmographies

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Daniel Craig Guy Crouchback
Megan Dodds Virginia

Technical Credits
Bill Anderson Director
William Boyd Screenwriter
Daf Hobson Cinematographer
Nina Humphreys Score Composer
Gillian McNeill Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Sword of Honour: Evelyn Waugh's Wartime Epic
1. Saying Goodbye [7:43]
2. The Halberdiers [5:48]
3. Virginia [7:59]
4. Taking Over [6:11]
5. On Leave [9:56]
6. The Real Thing [7:46]
7. Reconnaissance Patrol [10:55]
8. Trimmer & Virginia [7:07]
9. A Bus Ride [8:46]
10. McTavish's Operation [4:51]
11. Egypt [6:46]
12. New Command [6:43]
Disc #2 -- Sword of Honour: Evelyn Waugh's Wartime Epic
1. In Crete [8:41]
2. Where's Ludovic? [7:37]
3. Finding Major Hound [3:19]
4. Surrendering [6:22]
5. Boat Ride [7:43]
6. The Cover-Up [6:48]
7. Father's News [6:25]
8. The Funeral [8:18]
9. Unexpected Visitor [8:23]
10. Second Time [5:08]
11. Demands [4:55]
12. Get Us to Italy [10:59]
13. Last Demonstration [5:07]
14. Dreadful News [8:09]
15. Father & Son [3:42]

Customer Reviews