Stranger In The House

Stranger In The House

James Mason
Director: Pierre Rouve Cast: James Mason
James Mason
, Geraldine Chaplin
Geraldine Chaplin
, Bobby Darin
Bobby Darin
Pierre Rouve


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


Cop-Out is a distressingly "mod" remake of the 1941 French film Strangers in the House. Taking over the role originally played by Raimu, James Mason stars as a retired, scotch-swilling attorney residing in France. Mason disapproves of his daughter's (Geraldine Chaplin) new boy friend (Bobby Darin), but rises to the young man's defense in court when the boy is arrested on a suspicious murder charge. The casting of Chaplin and Darin was meant to "reach" the youth market, but both are way too old for their characters. Cop-Out would have worked better (especially with audiences of the 1990s) without its trendy camerawork and wearisome generation-gap propaganda.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/28/2017
UPC: 0738329226145
Original Release: 1967
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:44:00
Sales rank: 47,480

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
James Mason John Sawyer
Geraldine Chaplin Angela Sawyer
Bobby Darin Barney Teale
Paul Bertoya Jo Christophorides
Ian Ogilvy Desmond Flower
Bryan Stanton Actor
Pippa Steel Sue Phillips
James Hayter Harley Hawkins
Megs Jenkins Mrs. Christophorides
Lisa Daniely Diana
Yootha Joyce Girl at Shooting Range
Ivor Dean Inspector Colder
Lucy Griffiths Library Cleaner
Tom Kempinski Shop Assistant
Marjorie Lawrence Brenda
Moira Lister Mrs. Flower
Melinda May Librarian
Clive Morton Col. Flower
Julian Orchard Policeman
Toni Palmer Doorwoman
Michael Standing Fashion Photographer
Rita Webb Mrs. Plaskett
Sheila White Hazel

Technical Credits
Pierre Rouve Director,Screenwriter
Scott Vic Briggs Songwriter
Dimitri de Grunwald Producer
Felix Evans Costumes/Costume Designer
Ken Higgins Cinematographer
John Scott Score Composer
Ernest Walter Editor
Tony Woollard Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Cop-Out
1. Chapter 1 [7:51]
2. Chapter 2 [10:08]
3. Chapter 3 [9:18]
4. Chapter 4 [11:26]
5. Chapter 5 [14:00]
6. Chapter 6 [10:55]
7. Chapter 7 [14:24]
8. Chapter 8 [15:38]

Customer Reviews