Star Trek IV: the Voyage Home

Star Trek IV: the Voyage Home

Leonard Nimoy
 Cast: Leonard Nimoy
Leonard Nimoy
, William Shatner
William Shatner
, DeForest Kelley
DeForest Kelley
, George Takei
George Takei

DVD (Remastered / Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 20


Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home (1986) concludes the story arc begun with Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982) and continued in Star Trek III: The Search for Spock (1984), but on a wholly new, different, and upbeat note. As the movie opens, months have elapsed since the events in Star Trek III; Admiral Kirk (William Shatner), McCoy (DeForest Kelley), Scott (James Doohan), Sulu (George Takei), Uhura (Nichelle Nichols), and Chekhov (Walter Koenig) are marooned in self-imposed exile on Vulcan, along with the resurrected and regenerated Spock (Leonard Nimoy, who also directed). While Spock tries to sort out the Vulcan and human halves of his resurrected psyche, the others prepare to return to Earth to face a brace of charges by the Klingon Empire and Star Fleet over events on Genesis. Taking off in their commandeered, jerry-rigged Klingon ship, they head to Earth, not knowing that a new crisis could destroy their home world -- a huge, immensely powerful alien probe has entered the galaxy and established a position near Earth, disabling every vehicle and installation in its path with its energy and communication output, and has ionized the entire atmosphere and started vaporizing the oceans, leaving the planet only hours to survive. Spock determines that the probe is sending out signals to another intelligent terrestrial life form, humpbacked whales, which no longer exist. Using the gravity slingshot time-warp effect (established early in the original series) to travel back into Earth's 20th century, Kirk and company land in 1980s San Francisco to try and bring humpbacked whales to the 23rd century, to respond to the probe. Thus starts a surprisingly breezy, light-hearted, yet serious odyssey through the past (comparable to the best work of the original series), as the crew learns to deal with exact-change buses, angry drivers, punk-rock enthusiasts and other elements of '80s life, and Kirk tries to persuade a scientist (Catherine Hicks) of his good intentions for two whales in captivity. The screenplay, co-authored by Steve Meerson, Peter Krikes, Nicholas Meyer, and Harve Bennett (from a story by Nimoy and Bennett), is the cleverest and most sophisticated of all the Star Trek movie screenplays, recalling some of the elements of Meyer's earlier time-travel movie Time After Time and also anticipating the feel and tone of the series Star Trek: The Next Generation (which would be on the air not quite a year later). Nimoy's direction offers a combination of brisk pacing and a deep love of the characters and the actors, as well as a serious appreciation of the humorous aspects of the script, and Shatner gives his best performance of any of the movies.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/22/2009
UPC: 0097360719048
Original Release: 1986
Rating: PG
Source: Paramount
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:58:00
Sales rank: 3,606

Special Features

Closed Caption; ; Commentary By: Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman; ; Pavel Chekov's Screen Moments; The Three-Picture Saga; Star Trek For A Cause; Starfleet Academy: The Whale Probe

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
William Shatner James T. Kirk
Leonard Nimoy Mr. Spock
DeForest Kelley Leonard "Bones" McCoy
George Takei Hikaru Sulu
James Doohan Montgomery "Scotty" Scott
Catherine Hicks Gillian
Walter Koenig Pavel Chekov
Nichelle Nichols Uhura
Jane Wyatt Amanda Spock
Mark Lenard Sarek
Robin Curtis Lt. Saavik
Robert Ellenstein Federation Council President
John Schuck Klingon Ambassador
Scott W. de Venney Bob Briggs
Madge Sinclair Capt. of the U.S.S. Saratoga
Brock Peters Admiral Cartwright
Michael Snyder Starfleet Communications Officer
Michael Berryman Starfleet Display Officer
Grace Lee Whitney Janice Rand
Jane Wiedlin Alien Communications Officer
Vijay Amritraj Starship Captain
Majel Barrett Christine Chapel
Nick Ramus Saratoga Helmsman
Martin Pistone Controller #2
Phil Rubenstein 1st Garbageman
John Miranda 2nd Garbageman
Bob Sarlatte Waiter
Alex Henteloff Nichols
Tony Edwards Pilot
Eve Smith Elderly Patient
Greg Karas Intern #2
Raymond Singer Young Doctor
Judy Levitt Doctor #2
Teresa E. Victor Usher
Kirk Thatcher Punk on Bus
Jeff Lester FBI Agent
Joe Lando Shore Patrolman
Newell Tarrant CDO
Mike Timoney Electronics technician
Jeffrey Martin Electronics technician

Technical Credits
Leonard Nimoy Director,Original Story
Joe Aubel Art Director
James Bayliss Set Decoration/Design
Harve Bennett Original Story,Producer,Screenwriter
Peter E. Berger Editor
Richard G. Berger Set Decoration/Design
Brooke Breton Associate Producer
Gene S. Cantamessa Sound Mixer
Jack T. Collis Production Designer
Daniel Gluck Set Decoration/Design
Warren Hamilton Sound Editor
David J. Hudson Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Krikes Screenwriter
Michael Lantieri Special Effects
Steve Meerson Screenwriter
Nicholas Meyer Screenwriter
Donald Peterman Cinematographer
Chuck Picerni Stunts
Robert Fletcher Costumes/Costume Designer
Leonard Rosenman Score Composer
Peter Smith Art Director
Kirk Thatcher Associate Producer
Ralph Winter Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home
1. Scene 1 [3:06]
2. Scene 2 [3:53]
3. Scene 3 [1:25]
4. Scene 4 [5:07]
5. Scene 5 [1:42]
6. Scene 6 [1:24]
7. Scene 7 [5:21]
8. Scene 8 [5:24]
9. Scene 9 [2:12]
10. Scene 10 [6:23]
11. Scene 11 [:28]
12. Scene 12 [7:53]
13. Scene 13 [:56]
14. Scene 14 [5:42]
15. Scene 15 [:25]
16. Scene 16 [6:28]
17. Scene 17 [:12]
18. Scene 18 [4:43]

Customer Reviews