B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!


Matthew McConaughey
Director: Breck Eisner Cast: Matthew McConaughey
Matthew McConaughey
, Steve Zahn
Steve Zahn
, Penélope Cruz
Penélope Cruz
Breck Eisner

Blu-ray (Wide Screen / Subtitled / Dubbed)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


Matthew McConaughey stars as explorer and adventurer Dirk Pitt in this adaptation of the best-selling novel by Clive Cussler. Pitt thinks he may have found both a fortune and the answer to a long-standing mystery when he discovers a rare coin in the waters of a river in West Africa. During the Civil War, an ironclad battleship with a valuable cargo went missing, and Pitt's theory is that the coin places the ship somewhere in the Sahara Desert. Pitt and his goofy sidekick, Al Giordino (Steve Zahn), set out to find it, but along the way they make the acquaintance of Dr. Eva Rojas (Penélope Cruz), a scientist and physician who is trying to determine the source of a strange and deadly disease sweeping the nation. As Eva joins Dirk and Al, they begin to wonder if the mysteries they're trying to uncover might be somehow linked. Sahara was only the second of Cussler's Dirk Pitt adventures to be adapted for the screen; the first, 1980's Raise the Titanic, was publicly dismissed by the author.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2017
UPC: 0032429283726
Original Release: 2005
Rating: PG-13
Source: Paramount
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 2:04:00
Sales rank: 6,970

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Matthew McConaughey Dirk Pitt
Steve Zahn Al Giordino
Penélope Cruz Eva Rojas
Lambert Wilson Yves Massarde
Glynn Turman Dr. Frank Hopper
Delroy Lindo Carl
William H. Macy Admiral Sandecker
Lennie James Gen. Kazim
Rainn Wilson Rudi Gunn
Dayna Cussler Kitty Mannock

Technical Credits
Breck Eisner Director
Mark Albela Co-producer
Stephanie Austin Producer
Howard Baldwin Producer
Karen Baldwin Producer
David Barron Co-producer
Bill Brown Co-producer
Allan Cameron Production Designer
Thomas Dean Donnelly Screenwriter
Nina Gold Casting
Gus Gustawes Executive Producer
Jim V. Hart Screenwriter
William J. Immerman Executive Producer
Lis Kern Associate Producer
Lindsay Fellows Musical Direction/Supervision
Andrew MacRitchie Editor
Clint Mansell Score Composer
Giles Masters Art Director
Anne McCarthy Casting
Matthew McConaughey Executive Producer
Seamus Mcgarvey Cinematographer
Henning Molfenter Co-producer
Nick Morton Co-producer
Chris Munro Sound/Sound Designer
Mace Neufeld Producer
Chris Newman Asst. Director
Denise O'dell Co-producer
Joshua Oppenheimer Screenwriter
Mike Phillips Co-producer
Thierry Potok Co-producer
Tony Reading Art Director
Andrew Reif Associate Producer
John C. Richards Screenwriter
Vicki Dee Rock Executive Producer
Aileen Seaton Makeup
Leslie Shatz Sound/Sound Designer
Anna Sheppard Costumes/Costume Designer
Dominic Tuohy Special Effects Supervisor

Customer Reviews