Petticoat Junction - The Official First Season

Petticoat Junction - The Official First Season

Bea Benaderet
Bea Benaderet
Bea Benaderet
Bea Benaderet
Director: David Alexander, Dick Wesson, Donald O'Connor
Cast: Bea Benaderet
David Alexander, Dick Wesson, Donald O'Connor,

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 15


The astonishing success of The Beverly Hillbillies enabled producer Paul Henning to pitch another "rural" sitcom to a most receptive CBS. Debuting September 24, 1963, Petticoat Junction (original title: Whistle Stop) was, in its first few seasons, a vehicle for Bea Benaderet, an old friend and colleague of Henning's since The Burns and Allen Show, and most recently seen as Cousin Pearl on Beverly Hillbillies. Benaderet was cast as Kate Douglas, the widowed owner of the Shady Rest, the only traveler's hotel in the Illinois farming community of Hooterville. Edgar Buchanan co-starred as Kate's uncle Joe Bradley, self-appointed manager of the hotel, who, when not hatching his latest get-rich-quick scheme, was figuring out new methods to expend as little energy as possible. Kate was the mother of three beautiful, curvaceous daughters: Betty Jo (played through the series' run by Paul Henning's daughter Linda Kaye Henning), Billie Jo (played during the first two seasons by Jeannine Riley, during season three by Gunilla Hutton, and from season four onward by Meredith Mac Rae), and Bobbie Jo (played by Patricia Woodell in seasons one and two, and by Lori Saunders thereafter). The town and hotel were connected (more or less) to the outside world by the Hooterville Cannonball, the last and oldest steam engine in the C.F.&W. railroad line, run by engineers Charlie Pratt (Smiley Burnette) and Floyd Smoot (Rufe Davis). Other Hooterville residents over the years included storekeeper Sam Drucker (Frank Cady), town gossip Selma Plout (Virginia Sale, then Elvia Allman) and her gangly daughter Henrietta (Susan Walther, then Lynette Winter), barber Bert Smedley (Paul Hartman), and train conductor Wendell Gibbs (Byron Foulger). The most omnipresent of the recurring characters was Charles Lane as Homer Bedloe, the delightfully flint-hearted vice president of the C.F.&W., who never tired of hatching sinister schemes to put the antiquated Hooterville Cannonball out of business.

After two black-and-white seasons, the series switched to color for season three in 1965, the same year that Petticoat Junction's spinoff series Green Acres made its CBS debut. Thereafter, the casts of the two series made innumerable crossover appearances, with Petticoat Junction's Frank Cady and Green Acres co-stars Tom Lester (as handyman Eb Lawson) and Kay E. Kuter (as farmer Newt Kiley) virtually becoming regulars on both shows. At the beginning of season four, Mike Minor joined the cast as Steve Elliott, a pilot whose plane had crashed just outside the Shady Rest. After a lengthy courtship, Steve married Kate's oldest daughter Betty Jo -- just as actors Mike Minor and Linda Kaye became husband and wife in real life. In addition to the aforementioned turnover in the actresses playing Billie Jo and Bobbie Jo, there were several other cast changes and dropouts during Petticoat Junction's eight seasons. Sadly, two of these were dictated by mortality: supporting player Smiley Burnette died in 1967, and series star Bea Benaderet passed away at the beginning of the 1968-1969 season (upon Kate Bradley's departure, Uncle Joe assumed ownership of the Shady Rest). In the course of the same season, June Lockhart joined the cast as lady doctor Janet Craig, who had arrived in Hooterville to replace retiring town physician Dr. Barton Stuart (Regis Toomey). The producers had hoped that same rapport which existed between Bea Benaderet and Edgar Buchanan would be replicated by Buchanan and Lockhart, but this was not to be. After 221 episodes, Petticoat Junction was canceled on September 12, 1970, the first casualty in CBS's drive to "de-ruralize" its network demographic and appeal to a more urban, sophisticated audience.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/16/2008
UPC: 0097368878242
Original Release: 0000
Rating: NR
Source: Paramount
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 16:14:00
Sales rank: 22,860

Special Features

Closed Caption; Episodic video intros by Pat Woodell (Bobbie Jo) and Linda Kaye Henning (Betty Jo); Interviews with Pat Woodell and Linda Kaye Henning; Interview with Paul Henning (1990) with video intro by Pat Woodell and Linda Kaye Henning; Original sponsor spots with video intro by Pat Woodell and Linda Kaye Henning; Photo gallery with video intro by Pat Woodell and Linda Kaye Henning

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Bea Benaderet Actress
Adam West Dr. Clayton Harris
Barry Kelly Hurley Feasel
Bob Hastings Bill Tuttle
Charles Lane Homer Bedloe
Don Beddoe Dr. Joseph Depew
Don Washbrook Herbie Bates,Herby,Herby Bates
Doris Packer Clara Watkins
Edgar Buchanan Actor
Elena Verdugo Mary Jane Hastings
Elvia Allman Mrs. Stroud
Hayden Rorke H.J. Grant
Henry Calvin Pixley Fats
Jim Hawkins Orville Miggs,Lowell Rightmeyer
John Clarke Brooks Webster
John Vivyan Lane Haggard
John Wilder Arthur Gilroy
Lurene Tuttle Adelaide Keane
Lyle Talbot Mr. Cheever
Nora Marlowe Mrs. Whipple,Mrs. Whippel
Rosemary de Camp Emily Mapes
Roy Roberts Norman Curtis
Sheila James Sally Ragsdale
Tommy Ivo Walter Shepherd
Andy Albin Ding Woodhouse
Beverly Wills Mrs. Norton
Don Dubbins Smokey Harper
Douglas Dumbrille Dave LaSalle
Everett Sloane Philip Waterhouse
Jack Bannon Roger Budd
Jay Ripley Tad Whipple
Joan Marshall Lucy Wayne
Judee Morton Elsie Gregg
Ken Osmond Harold Boggs
Lauren Gilbert J.B. Giddings
Linda Kaye Henning Actress
Mike Ross Sheriff Ragsdale
Olan Soule Mr. Parks
Paul de Rolf Paul Henderson
Peter Brooks Sonny Watkins
Peter Hansen Steve
Robert Riordan Avery Mapes
Russell Horton Junior Hocker
Steve Franken Homer Bedloe Jr.
William Benedict Willie
Addison Richards Frank Newton
Dick O'Shea Toby Gates,Helicopter Pilot
Dick Patterson Mr. Cassidy
Eddie Quillan Dick,Mort
Eve McVeagh Miss Hammond
Hank Patterson Fred Ziffel
Ian Wolfe E.T. Gibbs
Jeannine Riley Actress
John Hubbard Max Thornton
Jonathan Hole Mr. Bunce
Karen Norris Miss Hammond
Maxine Semon Mabel Snark
Michael Ross Sheriff Ragsdale
Norman Leavitt Deputy Fred Thompson
Shug Fisher Salesman
Walter Reeds Grover Woodstock
Willis B. Bouchey Dr. John Rhone
Bart Patton Phil
Charles Meredith George Prentice
Donald Kerr Salesman
John Ashley Fred
John Hoyt John Fisher
Patricia Woodell Actress
Patrick Waltz Assayer
Robert Carson Wilbur Spriggs
Allene Ray Tom Hartley
Barbara Pepper Ruth Ziffel
Cheerio Meredith Nettie
Gladys Holland Georgette
Glenn Strange Hawley
Gloria Marshall Miss Evans
Ned Wever 1st Stockholder

Technical Credits
David Alexander Director
Dick Wesson Director
Donald O'Connor Director
Guy Scarpitta Director
Jean Yarbrough Director
Ralph Levy Director
Richard L. Bare Director
Richard Whorf Director
Sherman Marks Director

Customer Reviews