Megumi Hayashibara
Director: Satoshi Kon Cast: Megumi Hayashibara
Megumi Hayashibara
, Toru Emori
Toru Emori
, Katsunosuke Hori
Katsunosuke Hori
Satoshi Kon

DVD (Wide Screen)

$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


Groundbreaking animator Satoshi Kon (whose credits include Tokyo Godfathers, Millennium Actress, and Perfect Blue) directed this visually spectacular adaptation of a science fiction novel by Yatsutaka Tsutsui. Atsuko is a psychiatrist who uses advanced technology to study the human mind. Atsuko has developed a machine that will allow her to enter the dreams of her patients and study their psyches from the inside. Atsuko also does double duty as Paprika, a high-tech detective who uses this new innovation to find out the truth about what the people she's trailing really think. However, Atsuko falls victim to a thief who steals the one-of-a-kind machine, and Paprika sets out to find it as a wave of psychological instability tears through the city. Paprika received its world premiere at the 2006 Venice Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/27/2007
UPC: 0043396189119
Original Release: 2006
Rating: R
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 1,443

Special Features

Tsutsui and Kon's Paprika - making-of documentary; A conversation about the "Dream"; The dream CG world; The art of fantasy; Filmmaker commentary

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Megumi Hayashibara Atsuko Chiba
Toru Emori Seijiro Inui
Katsunosuke Hori Torataro Shima
Toru Furuya Kosaku Tokita
Akio Ohtsuka Toshimi Konakawa
Kouichi Yamadera Morio Osanai
Hideyuki Tanaka HIM
Satomi Kohrogi Japanese Doll

Technical Credits
Satoshi Kon Director,Screenwriter
Susumu Hirasawa Score Composer
Nobutaka Ike Art Director
Yoshihiro Kasahara Editor
Michiya Kato Cinematographer
Madhouse Art Director
Jungo Maruta Executive Producer
Masafumi Mima Sound/Sound Designer
Seishi Minakami Screenwriter
Takeshi Seyama Editor
Masao Takiyama Executive Producer
Satoki Toyoda Co-producer,Producer
Yasutaka Tsutsui Original Story

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Paprika
1. Magic Act [3:26]
2. Opening Doors [2:44]
3. Stolen Goods [3:23]
4. Connection Control [3:28]
5. Terrorist Dream [2:42]
6. Breaking the Rules [4:27]
7. A Little Rough [3:44]
8. Dream Woman [2:37]
9. New Victims [4:09]
10. Incomplete Operation [2:11]
11. Case Accident [3:08]
12. Mystery Gain [2:44]
13. Line of Action [3:10]
14. Creating Dreams [3:54]
15. Expanding Threat [1:43]
16. Breaking Walls [:58]
17. Flight Search [3:18]
18. One Huge Delusion [3:17]
19. Endless Boundaries [1:25]
20. Hand-Chosen [2:17]
21. Against the Odds [3:37]
22. Manipulations [3:11]
23. Dream Travel [2:24]
24. Night Scare [2:25]
25. Combining Words [2:21]
26. Holding On [2:45]
27. Try to Remember [3:42]
28. Dark Battle [11:04]

Customer Reviews