No Time for Comedy

No Time for Comedy

James Stewart
Director: William Keighley Cast: James Stewart
James Stewart
, Rosalind Russell
Rosalind Russell
, Genevieve Tobin
Genevieve Tobin
William Keighley

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


S.N. Behrman's hit Broadway show about a guy who writes hit Broadway shows comes to the screen in this comedy. Gaylord Esterbrook (James Stewart) is a reporter from Minnesota who writes a play about life in New York City -- a place he's never visited. To his surprise, a Big Apple producer wants to stage Gaylord's show and asks him to come to New York immediately. While Gaylord hardly seems like a Big City sophisticate, his regular-guy charm makes a big impression on leading lady Linda (Rosalind Russell), who is tired of jaded braggarts like her director, Morgan (Allyn Joslyn). Gaylord and Linda get married, and he becomes one of the most successful playwrights in town, but his new popularity goes to his head, and Linda wonders what happened to the man she married. However, Gaylord's career takes a turn for the worse when he meets Amanda (Genevieve Tobin), a snooty high society type who convinces him that he ought to be writing the Great American Tragedy instead of crowd-pleasing comedies.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/2013
UPC: 0883316812716
Original Release: 1940
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:32:00
Sales rank: 8,871

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
James Stewart Gaylord Esterbrook
Rosalind Russell Linda Esterbrook
Genevieve Tobin Amanda Swift
Charlie Ruggles Philo Swift
Allyn Joslyn Morgan Carrel
Louise Beavers Clementine
Clarence Kolb Richard Bensen
J.M. Kerrigan Jim
Robert Greig Robert
Frank Faylen Cab Driver
Lawrence Grossmith Frank
Herbert Anderson Actor
James Burke Sergeant
Edgar Dearing Sweeney
Herbert Heywood Doorman
Arthur Houseman Drunk Wanting Directions
Olaf Hytten Swift's Butler
Selmar Jackson First-Nighter
Robert E. O'Connor Desk Sergeant
John Ridgely Cashier
Nella Walker Theatregoer
Pierre Watkin Theatregoer

Technical Credits
William Keighley Director
Julius J. Epstein Screenwriter
Philip G. Epstein Screenwriter
Leo F. Forbstein Score Composer,Musical Direction/Supervision
Ernest Haller Cinematographer
Robert Lord Associate Producer
Owen Marks Editor
Orry-Kelly Costumes/Costume Designer
Heinz Roemheld Score Composer
Hal B. Wallis Producer
Jack L. Warner Producer

Customer Reviews