Martha Graham - Dance On Film

Martha Graham - Dance On Film

Martha Graham
 Cast: Martha Graham

DVD (B&W / 1:33:1 aspect ratio)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/2007
UPC: 0715515025829
Original Release: 0000
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W, Full Frame]
Time: 1:32:00
Sales rank: 35,097

Special Features

New, restored high-definition digital transfers of three films: A Dancer's World, Appalachian Spring, Night Journey; A comparison of Appalachian Spring with an archival performance, by dance critic and historian Deborah Jowitt; Excerpts from a television pilot featuring composer Aaron Copland discussing his work on Appalachian Spring; A visual essay on working with Graham, narrated by Nathan Kroll; New interview with Museum of Television and Radio curator Ron Simon, discussing Kroll's work and legacy; New interviews with the films' editors, Eleanor Hamerow and Miriam Arsham; Martha Graham: The Dancer Revealed, a 1994 documentary produced for PBS's American Masters series; New interviews with six dancers from the films; Excerpts from a 1975 filmed technique demonstration by Graham's company, narrated by Graham; Footage of Graham's company from a 1954 European tour; A booklet featuring a new essay by dance critic Joan Acocella

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Martha Graham Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Martha Graham: Dance on Film, Disc 1
1. "Dance Is Communication" [2:56]
2. The Dancers [8:13]
3. Ten Years [2:47]
4. "Youth's Lyric Joy and Sadness" [4:30]
5. A Flirtation [1:53]
6. "The Deep Matters of the Heart" [3:59]
7. Spontaneity and Simplicity [6:30]
Disc #2 -- Martha Graham: Dance on Film, Disc 2
1. Denishawn/New York [9:14]
2. An American Language [6:31]
3. Community/Emotional Directness [3:37]
4. Growing Fame [4:26]
5. Louis Horst/Eric Hawkins [7:22]
6. Appalachian Spring [3:57]
7. The Greek Classics [4:29]
8. Devastation/A Vision [5:56]
9. Staying Too Long [5:35]
10. Rebirth [3:49]

Customer Reviews