Love on a Bet

Love on a Bet

Gene Raymond
Director: Leigh Jason Cast: Gene Raymond
Gene Raymond
, Wendy Barrie
Wendy Barrie
, Helen Broderick
Helen Broderick
Leigh Jason

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


Love on a Bet is a lightweight programmer from the "Get Rich Quick Wallingford" school of comedy. Gene Raymond stars as Michael, a fresh young sprout who needs $15,000 to produce a Broadway play. His rich uncle Carlton (William Collier Jr.) agrees to pony up the money, but only on the condition that Michael leave New York City in nothing but his underwear and show up in Los Angeles 10 days later in a new suit, with a hundred dollars, and a sweetheart -- which happens to be the plotline of the play that Michael wants to produce! As he embarks upon his hitchhiking "tour" of the U.S., Michael is given a lift by wisecracking Charlotte (Helen Broderick) and her pretty niece Paula (Wendy Barrie). At this point, everyone in the audience will know how Love on a Bet ends up, but getting there is all the fun.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/05/2013
UPC: 0883316715284
Original Release: 1936
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:17:00
Sales rank: 57,017

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Gene Raymond Michael MacCreigh
Wendy Barrie Paula Gilbert
Helen Broderick Aunt Charlotte
William Collier Uncle Carlton
Walter Johnson Stephan
Addison Randall Jackson Wallace
Eddie Gribbon Donovan
Morgan Wallace Morton
Irving Bacon Farmer
Spencer Charters Actor
William B. Davidson A.W. Hutchinson
William Gould Estimator
Eddie Kane Couturier
Marc Lawrence Barker
Minerva Urecal Secretary
Billy Gilbert Policeman

Technical Credits
Leigh Jason Director
Alberto Colombo Musical Direction/Supervision
Robert de Grasse Cinematographer
Kenneth Earl Original Story
Philip G. Epstein Screenwriter
Lee Marcus Associate Producer
Desmond Marquette Editor
Van Nest Polglase Art Director
P.J. Wolfson Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Love on a Bet
1. Chapter 1 [10:00]
2. Chapter 2 [10:02]
3. Chapter 3 [9:58]
4. Chapter 4 [9:59]
5. Chapter 5 [9:59]
6. Chapter 6 [10:00]
7. Chapter 7 [10:00]
8. Chapter 8 [6:39]

Customer Reviews