Lost in the Stars

Lost in the Stars

Ivor Barry
Director: Daniel Mann Cast: Ivor Barry
Ivor Barry
, William Glover
William Glover
, John Hawker
John Hawker
Daniel Mann

Blu-ray (Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Lost in the Stars was an American Film Theatre adaptation of the musical play by Maxwell Anderson and Kurt Weill--which in turn was based on the Alain Paton novel Cry the Beloved Country. Brock Peters portrays a South African minister who goes to the Big City to locate his son Raymond St. Jacques, who is now a criminal in the eyes of the white rulers. The minister forges a curious, foredoomed friendship with a white farmer (Paul Rogers). Lost in the Stars has sometimes been accused of blunting the edge of Paton's angry study of the cruelties of Apartheid; fans of musical theatre will be more politely inclined to this loving filmization of the Broadway play. On its own, Cry the Beloved Country was previously filmed in 1951, with Canada Lee, Sidney Poitier and Charles Carson.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2019
UPC: 0738329238360
Original Release: 1974
Rating: G
Source: Kino Classics
Region Code: A
Time: 1:37:00
Sales rank: 33,209

Special Features

Interview with Edie Landau "Ely Landau: In Front of the Camera," a promotional film for the American Film Theatre Gallery of trailers for the American Film Theatre

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ivor Barry Carmichael
William Glover Eland
John Hawker Paulus
John Holland Van Jarsdale
Harvey Jason Arthur Jarvis
Brock Peters Stephen Kumalo
Paul Rogers James Jarvis
Raymond St. Jacques John Kumalo
Myrna White Linda
John Williams Judge
Michael-James Wixted Edward Jarvis
Melba Moore Irina
Clifton Davis Absalom
Paulene Myers Grace
Paula Kelly Rose
Alan Weeks Matthew
Ji-Tu Cumbuka Johannes
H.B. Barnum Alex

Technical Credits
Daniel Mann Director
Edward Lewis Producer
Walter A. Hannemann Editor
Robert B. Hauser Cinematographer
Alfred Hayes Screenwriter
Paula Kelly Choreography
Ely Landau Producer
Alex North Musical Direction/Supervision
Jack Martin Smith Art Director
Kurt Weill Score Composer
Henry T. Weinstein Producer

Customer Reviews