Le Petit Soldat

Le Petit Soldat

Michel Subor
Director: Jean-Luc Godard Cast: Michel Subor
Michel Subor
, Anna Karina
Anna Karina
, Henri-Jacques Huet
Henri-Jacques Huet
Jean-Luc Godard

DVD (Black & White)

$14.99 $29.99 Save 50% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $29.99. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29

We're sorry, international shipping is currently unavailable for this item


This controversial spy-romance tale by Jean-Luc Godard was banned from release in France for three years because it refers to the use of torture on both the French and Algerian sides during the Algerian struggle for independence. The story focuses on Bruno Forestier (Michel Subor), a young, disillusioned man who becomes involved in politics, yet in spite of the fact that he stands up to torture and commits murder because of this involvement, he does not have deep political beliefs. Also featured is his lover Veronica Dreyer (Anna Karina, then-wife of director Jean-Luc Godard appearing in her first film) as a motivating factor in Bruno's behavior.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/21/2020
UPC: 0715515240314
Original Release: 1963
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:28:00
Sales rank: 5,457

Special Features

High-Definition digital restoration, approved by Cinematographer Raoul Coutard; Interview with Director Jean-Luc Godard from 1965 ; Interview with Michel Subor from 1963; Audio Interview with Godard from 1961; New English Subtitle translation; Plus: An essay by critic Nicholas Elliott

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Michel Subor Bruno Forestier
Anna Karina Veronica Dreyer
Henri-Jacques Huet Jacques
Paul Beauvais Paul
Laszlo Szabo Laszlo
Georges de Beauregard Activist Leader
Gilbert Edard Actor
Jean-Luc Godard Bystander at Railway Station

Technical Credits
Jean-Luc Godard Director,Screenwriter
Raoul Coutard Cinematographer
Georges de Beauregard Producer
Agnès Guillemot Editor
Lila Herman Editor
Maurice LeRoux Score Composer
Nadine Marquand Editor
Jacques Maumont Sound/Sound Designer
Nadine Trintignant Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Petit Soldat
255. Chapters
1. Veronica [8:42]
2. Order From Paris [14:50]
3. Cover Girl [11:07]
4. Hit-And-Run [7:31]
5. Real Secret Agents [7:34]
6. "Lie To Me" [5:06]
7. Monotonous And Sad [3:23]
8. Ideals [12:09]
9. Clearing A Path [14:07]
1. Color Bars [3:44]

Customer Reviews