Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
High Noon

High Noon

Gary Cooper
Director: Fred Zinnemann Cast: Gary Cooper
Gary Cooper
, Grace Kelly
Grace Kelly
, Thomas Mitchell
Thomas Mitchell
Fred Zinnemann
High Noon

High Noon

Gary Cooper
Director: Fred Zinnemann Cast: Gary Cooper
Gary Cooper
, Grace Kelly
Grace Kelly
, Thomas Mitchell
Thomas Mitchell
Fred Zinnemann


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 29


This Western classic stars Gary Cooper as Hadleyville marshal Will Kane, about to retire from office and go on his honeymoon with his new Quaker bride, Amy (Grace Kelly). But his happiness is short-lived when he is informed that the Miller gang, whose leader (Ian McDonald) Will had arrested, is due on the 12:00 train. Pacifist Amy urges Will to leave town and forget about the Millers, but this isn't his style; protecting Hadleyburg has always been his duty, and it remains so now. But when he asks for deputies to fend off the Millers, virtually nobody will stand by him. Chief Deputy Harvey Pell (Lloyd Bridges) covets Will's job and ex-mistress (Katy Jurado); his mentor, former lawman Martin Howe (Lon Chaney Jr.) is now arthritic and unable to wield a gun. Even Amy, who doesn't want to be around for her husband's apparently certain demise, deserts him. Meanwhile, the clocks tick off the minutes to High Noon -- the film is shot in "real time," so that its 85-minute length corresponds to the story's actual timeframe. Utterly alone, Kane walks into the center of town, steeling himself for his showdown with the murderous Millers. Considered a landmark of the "adult western," High Noon won four Academy Awards (including Best Actor for Cooper) and Best Song for the hit, "Do Not Forsake Me, O My Darling" sung by Tex Ritter. The screenplay was written by Carl Foreman, whose blacklisting was temporarily prevented by star Cooper, one of Hollywood's most virulent anti-Communists. John Wayne, another notable showbiz right-winger and Western hero, was so appalled at the notion that a Western marshal would beg for help in a showdown that he and director Howard Hawks "answered" High Noon with Rio Bravo (1959).

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/20/2016
UPC: 0887090600200
Original Release: 1952
Rating: NR
Source: Olive
Region Code: A
Time: 1:25:00
Sales rank: 20,140

Special Features

Mastered from new 4K restoration; "A Ticking Clock" Academy Award nominee Mark Goldblatt on the editing of High Noon; "A Stanley Kramer Production" - Michael Schlesinger on the eminent producer of High Noon; "Imitation of Life: The Hollywood Blacklist and High Noon" - with Larry Ceplair and blacklisted Screenwriter Walter Bernstein; "Oscars and Ulcers" - The Production History of High Noon" - a visual essay with rarely seen archival elements, narrated by Aaron Yelchin; "Uncriticized Kane" - an original essay by Sight & Sound editor Nick James; Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Gary Cooper Will Kane
Grace Kelly Amy Kane
Thomas Mitchell Jonas Henderson
Lloyd Bridges Harvey Pell
Katy Jurado Helen Ramirez
Otto Kruger Percy Mettrick
Lon Chaney Martin Howe
Henry Morgan Sam Fuller
Ian MacDonald Frank Miller
Eve McVeagh Mildred Fuller
Morgan Farley Minister
Harry Shannon Cooper
Lee Van Cleef Jack Colby
Robert J. Wilke James Pierce
Sheb Wooley Ben Miller
Tom London Sam
Ted Stanhope Station Master
Larry Blake Gillis
Jeanne Blackford Mrs. Henderson
James Millican Baker
Cliff Clark Weaver
Ralph Reed Johnny
Lucien Prival Bartender
Guy Beach Fred
Howland Chamberlain Hotel Clerk
Virginia Christine Mrs. Simpson
Jack Elam Charlie
Paul Dubov Scott
Tim Graham Sawyer
Nolan Leary Lewis
Tom Greenway Ezra
Dick Elliott Kibbee
John Doucette Trumbull
Virginia Farmer Mrs. Fletcher
William Newell Jimmy
William "Bill" Phillips Barber
Harry Harvey Coy

Technical Credits
Fred Zinnemann Director
Floyd D.Crosby Cinematographer
Emmett Emerson Asst. Director,Set Decoration/Design
Carl Foreman Producer,Screenwriter
Harry Gerstad Editor
Ben Hayne Art Director
Joe King Costumes/Costume Designer
Stanley Kramer Producer
Gus Norin Makeup
Ann Peck Costumes/Costume Designer
Tex Ritter Songwriter
Jean L. Speak Sound/Sound Designer
Rudolph Sternad Production Designer
Dimitri Tiomkin Score Composer
Murray Waite Set Decoration/Design
Ned Washington Songwriter
Elmo Williams Editor

Customer Reviews