Colin Clive
Director: James Whale Cast: Colin Clive
Colin Clive
, Boris Karloff
Boris Karloff
, Mae Clarke
Mae Clarke
James Whale

DVD (Black & White / Dolby 5.1 / Mono)

View All Available Formats & Editions


This DVD is actually superior to the film it contains, and considering that the movie in question is one of the greatest horror movies ever made, that's saying something. James Whale's Frankenstein never looked better than it does here, running circles around even the best laserdisc editions. A few scenes show more wear than one would like, but the image and the details are so sharp that it looks as though one could step inside of it. In this edition of the movie, viewers can truly appreciate the sheer eeriness and the full details of Boris Karloff's monster, right down to the texture of the skin, and get a good idea of what made the movie so extraordinary in its time. Additionally, it's fascinating to compare the assembly of the "restored" material here with the laserdisc version of the late-'80s; the laser looks like a crude and sloppy editing job, where the DVD is seamless in those previously "lost scenes" (the uncut creation sequence and the incident with the little girl). The audio is a little more problematic; while clean and very crisp, the dialogue is mastered too low in relation to the sound effects, making listening a choice between the dialogue too low or the sound effects too loud. The film by itself might well justify the high list price of this DVD, but the latter offers a lot more. The accompanying secondary audio narration by Rudy Behlmer is one of the best ever done for a classic film. Behlmer walks viewers through virtually every shot of the movie and the story as it unfolds, not just through the pre-production and production history but the entire tale of the Frankenstein story and its various theatrical and cinematic incarnations prior to the Universal film, right down to the details of the various screen tests (including that of Bela Lugosi). This principal part of the supplement is a great performance in and of itself -- vastly entertaining and as valuable as a detailed book about the film, the novel, and Universal. The film is also accompanied by a selection of stills and lobby cards, a re-release trailer, and a frame-by-frame look at the movie's production history and the background of its players. The menu is easy to access and maneuver, though the film starts up automatically, so one must punch it up out of the modern MCA-Universal logo.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/17/1999
UPC: 0025192032523
Original Release: 1931
Rating: NR
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital, monaural]
Time: 1:11:00

Special Features

"The Frankenstein Files: How Hollywood Made a Monster" (original documentary); Feature commentary by film historian Rudy Behlmer; The Frankenstein Archives; Short film "Boo!"; Production notes; Cast and filmmakers' bios and film highlights; Original theatrical trailer; Universal web links

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Colin Clive Henry Frankenstein
Boris Karloff The Monster
Mae Clarke Elizabeth
John Boles Victor Moritz
Dwight Frye Fritz, the Dwarf
Edward Van Sloan Doctor Waldman
Frederick Kerr Baron Frankenstein
Pauline Moore Bridesmaid
Michael Mark Ludwig, Peasant Father
Francis Ford Villager
Arletta Duncan Actor
Lionel Belmore Herr Vogel, Burgomaster
Marilyn Harris Little Maria

Technical Credits
James Whale Director
E.M. Asher Associate Producer
John L. Balderston Screenwriter
David Brockman Score Composer
David Broekman Score Composer
Arthur Edeson Cinematographer
Francis Edwards Faragoh Screenwriter
Robert Florey Screenwriter
Garrett Elsden Fort Screenwriter
John P. Fulton Special Effects
Charles Hall Art Director
Clarence Kolster Editor
Carl Laemmle Producer
Jack P. Pierce Makeup
Maurice Pivar Editor
Herman Rosse Set Decoration/Design

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Chapter List
1. A Word of Friendly Warning [2:04]
2. The Grave Robbers [4:37]
3. The Abnormal Brain [7:27]
4. The Preparations [4:19]
5. Frankenstein's Plan [4:30]
6. The Creation [7:42]
7. The Creature [3:33]
8. His Tormentor [:58]
9. First Blood [6:37]
10. The Creature Escapes [5:49]
11. Maria and the Monster [5:47]
12. The Uninvited Guest [4:34]
13. To Find a Monster [5:33]
14. The Windmill [2:06]
15. Death to the Monster! [2:00]
16. A Toast to the Frankensteins [2:15]

Customer Reviews