Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Founding Brothers

Founding Brothers

Mark Hufnail, Melissa Peltier, Bonnie Peterson, Jim Milio,
Founding Brothers

Founding Brothers

Mark Hufnail, Melissa Peltier, Bonnie Peterson, Jim Milio,


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 10


An adaptation of Joseph Ellis's Pulitzer Prize-winning tome, this documentary travels back to the Revolutionary War era. It argues that seven founding fathers of the United States - George Washington, James Madison, Ben Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Aaron Burr, Thomas Jefferson and John Adams -- didn't have one set of "self-evident" truths, but actually a series of complex and diverse visions of the country that needed to be reconciled and woven together to form a cohesive whole. This, the filmmakers suggests, happened via six key events: George Washington's farewell address to the country, Burr and Hamilton's duel, Ben Franklin's order for an end to slavery, the final reconciliation between Jefferson and Adams, a secret dinner that determined where the capital would be situated, and John Adams's election to the presidency. All are profiled here.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/10/2012
UPC: 0733961262490
Original Release: 0000
Rating: G
Source: A&E Home Video
Region Code: 0
Time: 3:20:00

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Peter Coyote Thomas Jefferson,Thoms Jefferson
Brian Dennehy George Washington
Edward Herrmann Narrator
Hal Holbrook Benjamin Franklin
Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe James Madison
James Woods John Adams

Technical Credits
Mark Hufnail Director
Melissa Peltier Director
Bonnie Peterson Director
Jim Milio Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Founding Brothers: A More Perfect Union
1. President Elect [:01]
2. Untrodden Ground [5:51]
3. The First Great Cabinet [5:09]
4. All Men Are Created Equal [6:23]
5. Visionary Plan [8:37]
6. Sides of Slavery [8:42]
1. Republicans vs. Federalists [:01]
2. The National Bank [5:14]
3. War of Words [4:29]
4. Proclamation of Neutrality [9:10]
5. The Jay Treaty [10:20]
6. Changing Times [7:57]
Disc #2 -- Founding Brothers: Evolution of a Revolution
1. Revolutionary Successors [:01]
2. Political Intrigue [9:48]
3. First Scandalous Affair [4:46]
4. Quasi War [4:50]
5. Loss of the People [7:57]
6. Weighty Political Scales [3:19]
1. Man of the People [:01]
2. Character Assassination [9:28]
3. Code of Honor [8:56]
4. Duel of Leadership [3:57]
5. Era of Democracy [8:49]
6. Independence Forever [6:33]

Customer Reviews