B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!


Michael Ruppert
Director: Chris Smith Cast: Michael Ruppert
Chris Smith

DVD (Wide Screen)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30


Michael Ruppert is an independent journalist who has made a minor career out of telling people news that most folks do not want to know. Ruppert, a former police officer, predicted the Wall Street debacle of 2008 several years before the fact, at a time when most analysts were still imagining infinite growth for the stock market and major investment banks. Since then, his vision of the world's future has grown only darker. As Ruppert sees it, civilization and the global economy has yet to wean itself off fossil fuels, and when the world's supply of oil finally runs out, it will lead to a global financial catastrophe that will leave no one unscathed. But while most of what Ruppert has to say bears the ring of truth, there's a small audience for his dire message -- the primary medium for his work is a self-published newsletter, and his most recent book has done so poorly in the marketplace that he faces eviction from his home. Is Ruppert right? And if he is, why doesn't anyone care? Filmmaker Chris Smith profiles Michael Ruppert and gives him a chance to explain his apocalyptic vision of the future at length in the documentary Collapse, which was an official selection at the 2009 Toronto International Film Festival.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/15/2010
UPC: 0030306500096
Original Release: 2009
Rating: NR
Source: Filmbuff
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:20:00
Sales rank: 71,410

Special Features

Trailer; Deleted scenes; Collapse update

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Michael Ruppert Participant

Technical Credits
Chris Smith Director
Armand Amar Score Composer
Hunter Crowley Sound/Sound Designer
Edward Lachman Cinematographer
Didier Leplae Score Composer
Max Malkin Cinematographer
Kate Noble Producer
Noisola Score Composer
Barry Poltermann Editor
Andrew Reznik Production Designer
Joe Wong Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Collapse
1. Revolution Calling [:08]
2. Michael [1:55]
3. Oil [3:42]
4. Saudi Arabia, Iraq, the Arctic and A.N.W.R. [3:59]
5. Transportation [5:07]
6. Electricity [5:05]
7. Credentials [2:58]
8. Food [1:55]
9. From the Wilderness [3:17]
10. Close [6:43]
11. Collapse [6:18]
12. Paradigm Shift [2:19]
13. Passengers [4:16]
14. Critical Thinking [5:22]
15. Going Home [6:34]
16. The Five Stages [3:46]
17. Balance [2:53]
18. Walk Away [6:11]
19. The 100th Monkey [2:32]
20. Close [2:20]

Customer Reviews