Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Border Radio

Border Radio

Director: Allison Anders, Dean Lent, Kurt Voss
Cast: Chris D
Chris D
, John Doe
John Doe
Allison Anders, Dean Lent, Kurt Voss,
Border Radio

Border Radio

Director: Allison Anders, Dean Lent, Kurt Voss
Cast: Chris D
Chris D
, John Doe
John Doe
Allison Anders, Dean Lent, Kurt Voss,

DVD (Black & White)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 2


In this semi-improvised look at life along the edges of L.A.'s rock scene, Chris D. (real name Chris Desjardins, leader of the L.A. punk band The Flesh Eaters) plays Jeff, a singer/songwriter who has suddenly gone missing. Two of his friends, bandmate Dean (John Doe, from the group X) and faithful roadie Chris (Chris Shearer), seem anxious to get in touch with him, and with good reason: Jeff and his band were stiffed by a club owner on payment for a recent gig, so they broke into the club's safe and took off with the loot. Now Jeff and the money have vanished, and Dean and Chris are torn between their concern for their friend's safety and their need to get their hands on the cash. Meanwhile, Jeff wanders aimlessly in Mexico, seemingly content after cutting himself off from the turmoil of his life in Los Angeles. Border Radio features members of several important California punk and roots bands in significant roles, including Dave Alvin of The Blasters and Texacala Jones of Tex and the Horseheads; Green on Red are shown playing a club date and The Lazy Cowgirls are featured on the soundtrack. Co-directors Allison Anders, Dean Lent, and Kurt Voss were UCLA film students who met while working on the crew of Wim Wenders's Paris, Texas; Anders went on to make several notable features, including Gas Food Lodging and Grace of My Heart.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/15/2007
UPC: 0715515021128
Original Release: 1987
Source: Criterion Collection
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:23:00
Sales rank: 23,648

Special Features

New, restored high-definition digital transfer, supervised and approved by director of photography Dean Lent and codirector Kurt Voss; Two audio commentaries: one with codirectors Allison Anders and Kurt Voss, and one with actors Luanna Anders, Dave Alvin, Chris D., John Doe, and Chris Shearer; The Making of "Border Radio," a 2002 documentary featuring interviews with Anders, Lent, Voss, Doe, and Chris D.; Nine deleted scenes; Music video of the Fleash Eaters' "The Wedding Dice"; Stills gallery featuring rare behind-the-scenes photos; Theatrical trailer and radio spot; Bios of cast and Crew; Optional English subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing; Plus: A new essay by music journalist and critic Chris Morris

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Chris D. Jeff
John Doe Dean
Luana Anders Lu
Chris Shearer Chris
Dave Alvin Dave
Iris Berry Scenester
Texacala Jones Babysitter
Devon Anders Devon
Chuck Shepard Expatriot
Eddie Flowers Thug
Sebastian Sopeland Thug
Green on Red Themselves
Craig Stark Thug

Technical Credits
Allison Anders Director,Screenwriter
Dean Lent Director,Cinematographer,Screenwriter
Kurt Voss Director,Screenwriter
Dave Alvin Score Composer
Bill Bateman Score Composer
Bill Bateman Score Composer
John Bazz Score Composer
Steve Berling Score Composer
D.J. Bonebrake Score Composer
Marcus de Leon Producer
John Doe Score Composer
Robert L. Rosen Associate Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Border Radio
1. "I Ain't Looking for a Fight" [8:05]
2. One Week Later [5:21]
3. Five-Dollar Kitty [6:35]
4. Loose Ends [9:33]
5. "Just Between You and Me..." [8:00]
6. Antelope Valley [8:04]
7. Latent Hostility [4:10]
8. Down In Mexico [4:38]
9. "Know What I Mean?" [3:16]
10. "Lunatic!" [3:08]
11. Mr. Skelley [5:47]
12. "See Ya In L.A.!" [7:44]
13. 2 or 6 Months Later [9:04]
1. Color Bars [:00]

Customer Reviews