James McAvoy
Director: Joe Wright Cast: James McAvoy
James McAvoy
, Keira Knightley
Keira Knightley
, Romola Garai
Romola Garai
Joe Wright

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A mischievous girl accuses her older sister's lover of a crime he did not commit, only to find that her words have irrevocably and permanently changed the lives of all involved in a film that re-teams the filmmakers behind Pride & Prejudice to adapt the best-selling 2002 novel by author Ian McEwan. The year is 1935, and as the summer heat takes hold, 13-year-old fledgling writer Briony Tallis watches her older sister, Cecilia (Keira Knightley), get undressed and go frolicking in the garden fountain on her family's country estate. The housekeeper's son, Robbie (James McAvoy), a childhood friend and recent Cambridge graduate, also witnesses the innocent act. When Robbie and Cecilia subsequently cross a particularly sensitive boundary and the scheming Briony accuses Robbie of an unspeakable transgression for which the boy is wholly innocent, the repercussions of her unfounded claim threaten to affect all three for decades to come.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/18/2008
UPC: 0025193328526
Original Release: 2007
Rating: R
Source: Focus Features
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:03:00
Sales rank: 9,343

Special Features

Deleted scenes; Bringing the past to life: The making of Atonement; From novel to screen: Adapting a classic; Feature commentary with director Joe Wright

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Atonement
1. First Play (Main Titles) [6:19]
2. Two Figures By a Fountain [7:23]
3. Close Relations [6:32]
4. Written Apology [5:38]
5. Interference [6:57]
6. Act of Love [5:39]
7. Ho Harm Done [4:51]
8. False Witness [5:59]
9. Serving Time [8:15]
10. Save Me [6:29]
11. By the Sea [6:04]
12. Put Things Right [7:02]
13. Remembering [2:41]
14. Not Ready [5:00]
15. Can't Escape [3:37]
16. Wounded [5:39]
17. With My Own Eyes [3:11]
18. Telling the Truth [8:37]
19. Final Act [8:13]
20. End Titles [8:27]

Customer Reviews