Another Man's Poison

Another Man's Poison

Bette Davis
Director: Irving Rapper Cast: Bette Davis
Bette Davis
, Gary Merrill
Gary Merrill
, Emlyn Williams
Emlyn Williams
Irving Rapper


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


Bette Davis co-stars with her then-new husband Gary Merrill in the British melodrama Another Man's Poison. Adapted from Leslie Sands' novel Deadlock, the story concerns one Janet Frobisher (Davis), a successful writer of suspense novels. Janet's life is thrown into turmoil when her disreputable long-lost husband, returns after a three-year absence. So as not to destroy her current romantic involvement with Larry (Anthony Steel), the fiancé of her secretary Chris (Barbara Murray), Janet poisons her inconvenient spouse and disposes of the body. At this point, George Bates (Gary Merrill), the dead husband's criminal accomplice, comes calling, demanding "hush money." So that he can keep an eye on Janet, George poses as her husband. Now, Janet is obliged to begin plotting George's demise. A heart-stopping surprise ending tops this nasty but effective little morality play. Another Man's Poison was distributed stateside by RKO Radio.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/28/2017
UPC: 0851968007002
Original Release: 1951
Rating: NR
Source: Classicflix
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 28,056

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Bette Davis Janet Frobisher
Gary Merrill George Bates
Emlyn Williams "Dr." Henderson
Anthony Steel Larry Stevens
Barbara Murray Chris Dale
Reginald Beckwith Mr. Bigley
Edna Morris Mrs. Bunting

Technical Credits
Irving Rapper Director
Daniel M. Angel Producer
Cedric Dawe Art Director
Douglas Fairbanks Producer
John Greenwood Score Composer
Val Guest Screenwriter
Gordon Hales Editor
Julie Harris Costumes/Costume Designer
Robert Krasker Cinematographer
Paul Sawtell Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Another Man's Poison
1. Opening Titles [1:41]
2. Train Station [3:34]
3. Saying Goodnight [1:52]
4. George Is Here [4:46]
5. I Hated Him [6:43]
6. Goodnight [4:26]
7. I Could Kill You [1:07]
8. Surprise Visitors [5:35]
9. Mr. Bigley [4:40]
10. Small Talk [2:05]
11. Not Dead [3:17]
12. I'm Not Going [1:11]
13. Mrs. Bunting [1:37]
14. The Papers [2:50]
15. The Gypsy's Warning [1:40]
16. The Clinging Type [1:18]
17. Definite Likeness [1:14]
18. Humor Me [3:33]
19. The Party's Over [2:17]
20. A Marked Man [3:35]
21. The Ugly Answer [3:48]
22. I Had To Do It [5:28]
23. Bring Her Back [3:20]
24. An Infatuation [3:25]
25. Insatiable Curiosity [7:56]
26. The Way Out [5:16]
27. I've Known All Along [1:37]
28. End Credits [:15]

Customer Reviews