Anna Christie

Anna Christie

Greta Garbo
Director: Clarence Brown Cast: Greta Garbo
Greta Garbo
, George F. Marion
George F. Marion
, Marie Dressler
Marie Dressler
Clarence Brown

DVD (Full Frame)



Accompanied by one of the most successful advertising campaigns in Hollywood history, Greta Garbo made her "talking picture" debut in this carefully chosen vehicle, the second screen version of Eugene O'Neill's 1922 play about the Minnesota-raised Swedish girl who desperately attempts to keep her unsavory past from her long-lost father, Kris (George F. Marion). But when she falls for a charming Irish sailor, Matt Burke (Charles Bickford), Anna can keep her secret no longer. Learning that the girl used to be a prostitute, Matt is at first repulsed, but quickly realizes that he cannot live without her. Working overtime, Garbo filmed both Swedish and German versions under the direction of Belgian Jacques Feyder.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/09/2019
UPC: 0883929689897
Original Release: 1930
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:29:00
Sales rank: 53,645

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Greta Garbo Anna Christie
George F. Marion Chris Christopherson
Marie Dressler Marthy Owen
Charles Bickford Matt Burke
James T. Mack Johnny the Harp
Lee Phelps Larry

Technical Credits
Clarence Brown Director,Producer
Adrian Costumes/Costume Designer
William H. Daniels Cinematographer
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
Frances Marion Screenwriter
Hugh Wynn Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Anna Christie
1. Credits [:54]
2. Ladies Entrance [5:03]
3. Letter to Chris [5:08]
4. What My Anna's Like [4:29]
5. Gimme a Whiskey [2:57]
6. My Old Man [4:33]
7. Trouble With Men [3:03]
8. Taking a Chance [7:55]
9. Old Devil Sea [6:19]
10. In the Blood [2:18]
11. Mighty Matt Burke [7:10]
12. Date With A He-Man [5:16]
13. Face from the Past [5:16]
14. Matt Proposes [1:13]
15. Father vs. Suitor [5:47]
16. A Kiss Goodbye [4:00]
17. Nobody Owns Me [4:29]
18. My Curse On You [3:47]
19. No Hard Feelings [2:59]
20. Oath of Love [3:58]
21. The Sea Knows [2:36]

Customer Reviews