Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
American Experience: My Lai

American Experience: My Lai

Barak Goodman
American Experience: My Lai

American Experience: My Lai

Barak Goodman


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 6


The incident is synonymous with unchecked human depravity, but the details surrounding it and belying it remain poorly understood. What prompted a battalion of ordinary American soldiers, stationed in Southeast Asia, to torture, rape, mutilate and murder an entire village of innocent Vietnamese civilians on March 16, 1968? This event, of course, became known as the My Lai Massacre, and it arguably qualifies as the nadir of Vietnam War insanity. As produced by WGBH Boston and originally aired on PBS for the American Experience series, the documentary My Lai asks probing and penetrating questions about the cause of this unthinkable event - if the soldiers, as they later claimed, were just following orders, of if the line between enemy soldier and civilian had become so blurred by the broader conflict that ethics were suddenly difficult for many of the participants to ascertain. This feature-length program takes an unflinching look at the horror itself, explores the vile cover-up that ensued, and pays homage to the courageous handful of soldiers who broke ranks and defied orders, in an attempt to put an end to the madness.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2010
UPC: 0841887012133
Original Release: 2010
Rating: NR
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:30:00
Sales rank: 61,726

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits

Technical Credits
Barak Goodman Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Jamila Ephron Associate Producer
Richard Fairbanks Sound Editor,Sound Mixer
Joel Goodman Score Composer
Stephen McCarthy Cinematographer
Nancy Novack Editor
Mark Samels Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- American Experience: My Lai
1. Introduction [3:34]
2. Men of Charlie Company [7:32]
3. Warfare in Pinkville [13:54]
4. Going into My Lai [8:54]
5. The Drainage Ditch [11:20]
6. Time To Intervene [5:24]
7. The Cover Up [6:12]
8. Investigation & Judgement [15:49]
9. The Aftermath [8:54]
10. Credits [1:58]

Customer Reviews