B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!


John Cusack
Director: Mikael Håfström Cast: John Cusack
John Cusack
, Samuel L. Jackson
Samuel L. Jackson
, Mary McCormack
Mary McCormack
Mikael Håfström

Blu-ray (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


A writer renowned for debunking infamous paranormal events is confronted by a force that he cannot explain upon checking into room 1408 of the notoriously haunted Dolphin Hotel. Mike Enslin (John Cusack) is an author who specializes in horror, but who only believes in what he can see with his eyes and touch with his hands. Having constructed an entire career on his ability to dispel superstitious "haunted house" rumors, Mike is convinced that the afterlife is a manmade construct designed to offer false comfort to the weak minded. Mike's latest project is a book entitled "Ten Nights in Haunted Hotel Rooms," and it seems that in room 1408 of the Dolphin Hotel, this skeptical scribe may finally find proof of the supernatural. Implored by the hotel manager (Samuel L. Jackson) not to enter room 1408, Mike defiantly procures the key and prepares to dispel yet another spectral sham. Now, as is the case with many of life's most profound epiphanies, the writer who thought he knew it all is caught entirely off guard at the precise moment he least expected it. Subsequently faced with undeniable proof of an afterlife, Mike may have a best-seller on his hands if he can simply survive until sunrise. Mary McCormack and Jasmine Jessica Anthony co-star in director Mikael Håfström's (Derailed) adaptation of an original short story by horror icon Stephen King.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2008
UPC: 0796019815246
Original Release: 2007
Source: Weinstein Company
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:52:00
Sales rank: 11,899

Special Features

Feature commentary by director Mikael Håfström and writers Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski; Alternate endings; Deleted scenes with optional commentary; The secrets of 1408; John Cusack on 1408; Inside room 1408; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Cusack Mike Enslin
Samuel L. Jackson Gerald Olin
Mary McCormack Lily Enslin
Jasmine Jessica Anthony Katie Enslin
Tony Shalhoub Actor

Technical Credits
Mikael Håfström Director
Scott Alexander Screenwriter
Lorenzo Di Bonaventura Producer
Peter Boyle Editor
Paul Corbould Special Effects Supervisor
Benoit Delhomme Cinematographer
Kelly Dennis Associate Producer
Elaine Grainger Casting
Matt Greenberg Screenwriter
Sean Guest Asst. Director
Antonia Kalmacoff Associate Producer
Larry Karaszewski Screenwriter
Stuart Kearns Art Director
Andrew Laws Production Designer
Nigel Mills Sound/Sound Designer
Jake Myers Executive Producer
Richard Saperstein Executive Producer
Brian Simmons Sound/Sound Designer
Jeremy Steckler Associate Producer
Natalie Ward Costumes/Costume Designer
Bob Weinstein Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein Executive Producer
Gabriel Yared Score Composer

Customer Reviews