B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
12 Angry Men

12 Angry Men

Henry Fonda
Director: Sidney Lumet Cast: Henry Fonda
Henry Fonda
, Lee J. Cobb
Lee J. Cobb
, Ed Begley Sr.
Ed Begley Sr.
Sidney Lumet

Blu-ray (Black & White)

$19.99 $39.99 Save 50% Current price is $19.99, Original price is $39.99. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8

We're sorry, international shipping is currently unavailable for this item


A Puerto Rican youth is on trial for murder, accused of knifing his father to death. The twelve jurors retire to the jury room, having been admonished that the defendant is innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. Eleven of the jurors vote for conviction, each for reasons of his own. The sole holdout is Juror #8, played by Henry Fonda. As Fonda persuades the weary jurors to re-examine the evidence, we learn the backstory of each man. Juror #3 (Lee J. Cobb), a bullying self-made man, has estranged himself from his own son. Juror #7 (Jack Warden) has an ingrained mistrust of foreigners; so, to a lesser extent, does Juror #6 (Edward Binns). Jurors #10 (Ed Begley) and #11 (George Voskovec), so certain of the infallibility of the Law, assume that if the boy was arrested, he must be guilty. Juror #4 (E.G. Marshall) is an advocate of dispassionate deductive reasoning. Juror #5 (Jack Klugman), like the defendant a product of "the streets," hopes that his guilty vote will distance himself from his past. Juror #12 (Robert Webber), an advertising man, doesn't understand anything that he can't package and market. And Jurors #1 (Martin Balsam), #2 (John Fiedler) and #9 (Joseph Sweeney), anxious not to make waves, "go with the flow." The excruciatingly hot day drags into an even hotter night; still, Fonda chips away at the guilty verdict, insisting that his fellow jurors bear in mind those words "reasonable doubt." A pet project of Henry Fonda's, Twelve Angry Men was his only foray into film production; the actor's partner in this venture was Reginald Rose, who wrote the 1954 television play on which the film was based. Carried over from the TV version was director Sidney Lumet, here making his feature-film debut. A flop when it first came out (surprisingly, since it cost almost nothing to make), Twelve Angry Men holds up beautifully when seen today. It was remade for television in 1997 by director William Friedkin with Jack Lemmon and George C. Scott.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2011
UPC: 0715515089210
Original Release: 1957
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: A
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:36:00
Sales rank: 60

Special Features

New high-definition digital restoration, with uncompressed monaural soundtrack; Frank Schaffner's 1955 television version, with an introduction by Ron Simon, surator at the Paley Center for Media; Production history of 12 Angry Men, from teleplay to big-screen classic; Archival interviews with director Sidney Lumet; New interview with screenwriter Walter Bernstein about Lumet; New interview with Simon about writer Reginald Rose; Tragedy in a Temporary Town (1956), a teleplay directed by Lumet and written by Rose; New interview with cinematographer John Bailey about director of photography Boris Kaufman; Original theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Henry Fonda Juror #8
Lee J. Cobb Juror #3
Ed Begley Juror #10
E.G. Marshall Juror #4
Jack Klugman Juror #5
Jack Warden Juror #7
Martin Balsam Juror #1
Edward Binns Juror #6
Joseph Sweeney Juror #9
George Voskovec Juror #11
Robert Webber Juror #12
John Fiedler Juror #2
Rudy Bond Judge
James A. Kelly Guard
Bill Nelson Court Clerk
John Savoca Defendant

Technical Credits
Sidney Lumet Director
Herman Buchman Makeup
Henry Fonda Producer
Kenyon Hopkins Score Composer
George Justin Associate Producer
Boris Kaufman Cinematographer
Carl Lerner Editor
Reginald Rose Original Story,Producer,Screenwriter

Customer Reviews