Darwin's Odyssey: The Voyage of the Beagle

Darwin's Odyssey: The Voyage of the Beagle

by Kevin Jackson
Darwin's Odyssey: The Voyage of the Beagle

Darwin's Odyssey: The Voyage of the Beagle

by Kevin Jackson


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 5
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The young Charles Darwin was like a young Indiana Jones. For five years in his mid-twenties, he sailed on the Beagle around the world, exploring jungles, climbing mountains, trekking across deserts. With every new landfall, he had new adventures: he rode through bandit country, was thrown in jail by revolutionaries, took part in an armed raid with marines, survived two earthquakes, hunted and fished. He suffered the terrible cold and rain of Tierra del Fuego, the merciless heat of the Australian outback and the inner pangs of heartbreak. He also made the discoveries that finally led him to formulate his theory of Natural Selection as the driving force of evolution. The five-year voyage of the Beagle was the basis for all Darwin's later work; but it also turned him from a friendly idler into the greatest scientist of his century.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781948585170
Publisher: Leapfrog Press
Publication date: 09/28/2021
Series: Seven Ships Maritime History
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.80(h) x (d)

About the Author

Kevin Jackson is an English writer, and has worked as a film-maker, radio producer and television director for the BBC; Associate Arts Editor for The Independent. He has written for The New Yorker, Granta, The Sunday Times (London), The Guardian, and Vogue, among other publications. His books have been chosen as a Book of the Week in the Guardian and a Book of the Year in the Express.

Table of Contents

Ship diagram 8

Prologue: The Calm after the Storms 10

Map 12

Chapter 1 Charles the Idler 15

Chapter 2 The Great Opportunity 27

Chapter 3 Under Sail (1831 - 2) 37

Chapter 4 In South America 43

Chapter 5 The Land of Fire 57

Chapter 6 El Naturalista Don Carlos 69

Chapter 7 Return to Tierra del Fuego and into the Pacific 81

Chapter 8 Earthquakes and Volcanoes 91

Chapter 9 Galapagos 97

Chapter 10 Slow Journey Home 103

Epilogue 118

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews