Dani's Story: A Journey from Neglect to Love

Dani's Story: A Journey from Neglect to Love

Hardcover(First Edition)

$24.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 10

Overview


The story that captivated a nation?how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents

In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless. But hope was waiting for Dani?and help. In October 2007, Bernie and Diane Lierow, a hard-working couple with five boys of their own, adopted her and utterly transformed her life. This book tells the moving story of how the Lierows rescued Dani and helped her recover to the point where she can not only communicate, something once thought impossible, but can say of herself, ""I pretty.""

  • Dani's story was featured on Oprah and the subject of a Pulitzer Prize-winning article published by the St. Petersburg Times
  • The Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother ever
  • For readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope's Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood

Charting a perilous journey from hardship to hope, a new family, and a second chance at life, Dani's Story is a book you cannot put down and will never forget.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780470591338
Publisher: Turner Publishing Company
Publication date: 06/21/2011
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

DIANE and BERNIE LIEROW are parents to six children, including Dani, as well as foster parents. Their story won a Pulitzer Prize for the St. Petersburg Times and was featured on The Oprah Winfrey Show. They live on a farm in Tennessee with miniature horses, goats, chickens, and Great Pyrenees dogs.

KAY WEST is a veteran print media journalist who has also written three books.

Table of Contents

Introduction.

Chapter 1. Planting the Seed.

Chapter 2. Seeking.

Chapter 3. The Girl in the Photo.

Chapter 4. The Feral Child.

Chapter 5. Meeting Danielle.

Chapter 6. Falling through the Cracks.

Chapter 7. Nowhere Child.

Chapter 8. Into the System.

Chapter 9. Truth and Consequences.

Chapter 10. Butterflies Are Free.

Chapter 11. All in Good Time.

Chapter 12. Step by Step.

Chapter 13. Meet the Family.

Chapter 14. Hello Kitty.

Chapter 15. Ready, Set, Go.

Chapter 16. One Step Backward.

Chapter 17. Two Steps Ahead.

Chapter 18. T.J. Bearytales.

Chapter 19. Pedal, Pedal, Pedal!

Chapter 20. Dani.

Chapter 21. Baby’s First Christmas.

Chapter 22. Tennessee.

Chapter 23. The Public Eye.

Chapter 24. Big Brother.

Chapter 25. Home.

Epilogue.

Acknowledgments. 

Customer Reviews