Curse of the Night Witch (Emblem Island Series #1)

Curse of the Night Witch (Emblem Island Series #1)

by Alex Aster

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 16

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

When 12-year-old Tor wakes up one morning to find that he has been cursed, he embarks on a quest with his friends Melda and Engle to find the Night Witch, who they believe is the only one who can reverse his fate. Using the mythical Book of Cuentos as their guide, the three friends encounter the dangerous monsters and treacherous terrains they have only read about in stories. This darkly fun and fast-paced adventure filled with Colombian folklore is a must-read for fans of Rick Riordan.

An #ownvoices fast-paced series starter steeped in Colombian mythology and full of adventure, perfect for fans of Percy Jackson. Filled with fantasy, action, adventure, and an unforgettable trio of friends.

A Seventeen.com Most Anticipated Book of Summer!
A Zibby Owens Summer Reading Pick on Good Morning America!

On Emblem Island all are born knowing their fate. Their lifelines show the course of their life and an emblem dictates how they will spend it.

Tor Luna was born with a leadership emblem, just like his mother. But he hates his mark and is determined to choose a different path for himself. So, on the annual New Year's Eve celebration, where Emblemites throw their wishes into a bonfire in the hopes of having them granted, Tor wishes for a different power.

The next morning Tor wakes up to discover a new marking on his skin...the symbol of a curse that has shortened his lifeline, giving him only a week before an untimely death. There is only one way to break the curse, and it requires a trip to the notorious Night Witch.

With only his village's terrifying, ancient stories as a guide, and his two friends Engle and Melda by his side, Tor must travel across unpredictable Emblem Island, filled with wicked creatures he only knows through myths, in a race against his dwindling lifeline.

You'll love Curse of the Night Witch if you're looking for:
  • Multicultural books for children (especially Latinx books)
  • Stories based on fascinating mythology
  • Your next favorite fantasy series
  • "Debut author Aster takes inspiration from Colombian folklore to craft a rousing series opener that's both fast-paced and thrilling. As her protagonists face off against a host of horrors, they learn the value of friendship and explore the possibility of changing one's fate in a world where destiny is predetermined."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

    "Worthy of every magical ounce."—Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review

    Product Details

    ISBN-13: 9781728232447
    Publisher: Sourcebooks
    Publication date: 04/27/2021
    Series: Emblem Island Series , #1
    Pages: 352
    Sales rank: 1,270
    Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)
    Lexile: 770L (what's this?)
    Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

    About the Author

    Alex Aster is an author and graduate of The University of Pennsylvania, where she majored in English with a Concentration in Creative Writing. The Emblem Island series is inspired by the Latin American myths her Colombian grandmother told her as a child before bedtime. She lives in New York. Explore the world of Emblem Island at www.asterverse.com.

    Customer Reviews