Clementine and Danny Save the World (and Each Other)

Clementine and Danny Save the World (and Each Other)

by Livia Blackburne

Narrated by Josephine Huang, David Lee Huynh

Unabridged — 7 hours, 45 minutes

Clementine and Danny Save the World (and Each Other)

Clementine and Danny Save the World (and Each Other)

by Livia Blackburne

Narrated by Josephine Huang, David Lee Huynh

Unabridged — 7 hours, 45 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$24.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $24.99

Overview

You've Got Mail gets a fresh YA twist in this irresistible rom-com that spotlights the power of activism and community organizing in the face of gentrification, perfect for fans of Tweet Cute and Yes No Maybe So.

Clementine Chan believes in the power of the written word. Under the pseudonym Hibiscus, she runs a popular blog reviewing tea shops and discussing larger issues within her Chinatown community. She has a loyal, kind following, save for this one sour grape named BobaBoy888.

Danny Mok is allergic to change, and the gentrification seeping into Chinatown breaks his heart. He channels his frustration into his internet alter ego, BobaBoy888, bickering with local blogger Hibiscus over all things Chinatown and tea.

When a major corporation reveals plans that threaten to shut down the Mok's beloved tea shop, Clementine and Danny find themselves working together in real life to save this community they both love. But as they fall hard for this cause-and each other-they have no clue that their online personas have been fighting for years.

When the truth comes to light, can Danny and Clementine still find their happily-ever-after?



Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

05/29/2023

Blackburne (the Queen’s Council series) delights with this Southern California–set enemies-to-lovers rom-com that tackles serious issues regarding gentrification and community. Classmates Clementine Chan, an anonymous tea blogger and student journalist, and Danny Mok, who’s spent most of his life working at his family’s tea shop, are barely on each other’s radars at school. But their secret online personae have been disagreeing with each other for years over Clementine’s reviews of local tea establishments and her opinions about social issues in their Chinatown community. When a large corporation buys out the plaza that houses Danny’s family’s shop, intending to redevelop, Clementine and Danny resolve to preserve the plaza with a student initiative. Even as the teens work together IRL, they continue to feud online. Initially lukewarm responses from the community, conflicting family and school obligations, and differing values create obstacles for Danny and Clementine, but their growing mutual understanding and attraction encourage them both to expand their perspectives. Opinionated and endearing main characters drive this slow-burning, nuanced read, in which Blackburne discusses the pervasiveness of misunderstandings through online communication, and the myriad interpretations of community development and advocacy. Most characters are of East Asian descent. Ages 12–up. Agent: Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (July)

From the Publisher

"Opinionated and endearing main characters drive this slow-burning, nuanced read, in which Blackburne discusses the pervasiveness of misunderstandings through online communication, and the myriad interpretations of community development and advocacy." — Publishers Weekly

"A charming rom-com with community at its heart." — Kirkus Reviews

SEPTEMBER 2023 -- AudioFile

Josephine Huang's and David Lee Huynh's earnest performances delight in this winning YA rom-com. Huang's spirited narration embodies the optimistic 18-year-old Clementine Chan, who writes as Hibiscus in her blog, which provides news and reviews on Chinatown. Huynh's deep tones and pacing clearly portray the cranky Danny Mok, a.k.a. BobaBoy888. Mok thinks Hibiscus's "cringe-worthy" posts are superficial and don't address important issues like gentrification. The interplay between the two performers' voices and styles fluidly captures Danny and Clementine's different socioeconomic situations and their increased cooperation in working against Kale Corp, which is threatening to close his family's teahouse. Huynh and Huang also maintain the tension as the protagonists remain unaware of each other's virtual identity. A sweet, smart listen for older teens and young adults alike. M.F. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine

Kirkus Reviews

2023-05-09
Two internet enemies team up to try to save their Chinatown community.

Under the username Hibiscus, 18-year-old Clementine Chan runs Babble Tea, a blog with a loyal following in which she reviews local tea spots. Danny Mok, aka Bobaboy888, is not a fan, however. What Clementine intends to be helpful suggestions to modernize and remain competitive in a changing world, Danny reads as Whitewashing to suit the tastes of influencers and gentrifiers. Then, shocking news hits that a mega-corporation is angling to take over the Chinatown strip mall where Fragrant Leaves, Danny’s family’s teahouse, is situated, and editor-in-chief of the school paper Clementine connects with activist nonprofit Chinatown Cares. Usually one to avoid conflict, Danny decides to join this community organizing initiative against the property purchase. As the classmates get closer in real life, they continue to trade barbs online. What will happen to their burgeoning romance when they discover the truth behind their online personas? Through her protagonists, Blackburne explores idealism versus pragmatism—and the need for a little of both. Both teens have their judgments and preconceptions, but they ultimately have productive, eye-opening conversations. Through canvassing, tabling, helping plan a rally, and spending time together, the pair learn to use their voices in new ways. Gentrification is explored as Clementine considers her family’s residence in a new, upscale Chinatown apartment building. Ruminations on online spaces, including the ease of fostering misunderstanding and volatility, make this a resonant read.

A charming rom-com with community at its heart. (Romance. 13-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940159815583
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 07/18/2023
Edition description: Unabridged
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews