Check & Mate (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Check & Mate (B&N Exclusive Edition)

by Ali Hazelwood
Check & Mate (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Check & Mate (B&N Exclusive Edition)

by Ali Hazelwood

Paperback(B&N Exclusive Edition)

$14.00 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 28
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

The YA debut of an adult fantasy breakthrough, Ali Hazelwood is back with all her STEM quirkiness, built around the ups and downs of chess. Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Stephanie Perkins.

This Barnes & Noble Exclusive Edition features foil on the cover and includes a special essay from the author!

In this clever and swoonworthy YA debut from the New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis, life’s moving pieces bring rival chess players together in a match for the heart.


Mallory Greenleaf is done with chess. Every move counts nowadays; after the sport led to the destruction of her family four years earlier, Mallory’s focus is on her mom, her sisters, and the dead-end job that keeps the lights on. That is, until she begrudgingly agrees to play in one last charity tournament and inadvertently wipes the board with notorious “Kingkiller” Nolan Sawyer: current world champion and reigning Bad Boy of chess.

Nolan’s loss to an unknown rook-ie shocks everyone. What’s even more confusing? His desire to cross pawns again. What kind of gambit is Nolan playing? The smart move would be to walk away. Resign. Game over. But Mallory’s victory opens the door to sorely needed cash-prizes and despite everything, she can’t help feeling drawn to the enigmatic strategist...

As she rockets up the ranks, Mallory struggles to keep her family safely separated from the game that wrecked it in the first place. And as her love for the sport she so desperately wanted to hate begins to rekindle, Mallory quickly realizes that the games aren’t only on the board, the spotlight is brighter than she imagined, and the competition can be fierce (-ly attractive. And intelligent…and infuriating…)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780593698525
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 11/07/2023
Edition description: B&N Exclusive Edition
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 710
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.80(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Ali Hazelwood is the New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis, as well as a writer of peer-reviewed articles about brain science, in which no one makes out and the ever after is not always happy. Originally from Italy, she lived in Germany and Japan before moving to the US to pursue a PhD in neuroscience. She recently became a professor, which absolutely terrifies her. When Ali is not at work, she can be found running, eating cake pops, or watching sci-fi movies with her two feline overlords (and her slightly-less-feline husband).
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews