Bridge [Bonus Tracks] [Remastered]

Bridge [Bonus Tracks] [Remastered]

by Sonny Rollins Quartet Sonny Rollins Quartet
Bridge [Bonus Tracks] [Remastered]

Bridge [Bonus Tracks] [Remastered]

by Sonny Rollins Quartet Sonny Rollins Quartet

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)



Tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins' first recording after ending a surprising three-year retirement found the great saxophonist sounding very similar to how he had played in 1959, although he would soon start investigating freer forms. In a pianoless quartet with guitarist Jim Hall, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and drummer Ben Riley, Rollins explores four standards (including "Without a Song" and "God Bless the Child") plus two fiery originals, highlighted by the title cut. The interplay between Rollins and Hall is consistently impressive, making this set a near-classic and a very successful comeback.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2013
Label: Poll Winners
UPC: 8436542012898
catalogNumber: 4201289
Rank: 98122


  1. Without a Song
  2. Where Are You?
  3. John S.
  4. The Bridge
  5. God Bless the Child
  6. You Do Something to Me
  7. If Ever I Would Leave You
  8. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes
  9. The Bridge
  10. God Bless the Child

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sonny Rollins Quartet   Primary Artist
Jim Hall   Guitar
Sonny Rollins   Tenor Saxophone
Bob Cranshaw   Bass
Ben Riley   Drums
Harry T. Saunders   Drums

Technical Credits

Sonny Rollins   Composer
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Bob Prince   Producer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
George Avakian   Producer,Original Liner Notes
Billie Holiday   Composer
Arthur Herzog   Composer
Alan Jay Lerner   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Frederick Loewe   Composer
Harold Adamson   Composer
Edward Eliscu   Composer
Jerome Barinin   Composer
Buddy Dernier   Composer
Billy Rose   Composer
Arnold Marcus   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews