Blackhorse Road: A Novel

Blackhorse Road: A Novel

by Merida L Johns


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 30


A compelling tale of emotional maturation, coming-of-age, romance, and womanhood that chronicles family conflict, a generational clash of beliefs, and the transforming power of choice, gratitude, and forgiveness.

It's the turbulent 1960s, and eighteen-year-old Luci Bartolini is following her North Star and new beginnings. Her values are grounded in her Irish great-grandmother's grit, her Italian father's philosophy of choice, and the era's social justice ideals of equity and justice.

A chance meeting at a street dance with a handsome air force cadet sets the stage for a romance that is as thrilling as a roller-coaster ride. But lurking in the shadows is an unforeseen and powerful foe whose betrayal robs Luci of her autonomy and shatters her love affair.

Through a twist of events, an unearthing of a family secret reveals the deception. Knowing that she was betrayed by someone she should have been able to trust, Luci tumbles into a chasm of bitterness and despair. Left with no lifesavers, Luci faces her inner demons and summons the courage to follow an elusive pathway-one laid out in a letter concealed for almost two decades that leads into unexpected territory.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781733279000
Publisher: Merida L. Johns
Publication date: 07/21/2020
Pages: 306
Sales rank: 631,269
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.69(d)

About the Author

Merida Johns takes her experience as a successful educator, consultant, and businesswoman and writes about the human experience. She shows how ordinary people tackle challenges, live though sorrow and betrayal, struggle with doubt, and act on their aspirations to achieve flourishing lives. Her stories are learning lessons where awareness and curiosity transport readers to the most unexpected places within themselves. Merida hails from Windsor, Ontario, Canada, grew up in Southern California and has lived from coast-to-coast in the United States. She resides with her husband in the beautiful farmland and countryside of Northern Illinois that gives her the serenity and space for storytelling.

Table of Contents


Part I 1966 - 1967

Chapter 1 Lucinda

Chapter 2 Family Ties

Chapter 3 Grit and Courage

Chapter 4 Street Dance

Chapter 5 Irony

Chapter 6 Shanghaied

Chapter 7 Choices

Chapter 8 Cadet from Buffalo

Chapter 9 Facing Down the Gremlin

Chapter 10 Baptism by Fire

Chapter 11 Coincidence

Chapter 12 Blackhorse Road

Chapter 13 Barry Glow

Chapter 14 Soul Mates and Revelations

Chapter 15 Contingency Plan

Chapter 16 Genevieve's Front Porch

Chapter 17 Arthur

Chapter 18 Fort Malden

Chapter 19 Bois Blanc

Part II 1984 - 1986

Chapter 20 Mourning

Chapter 21 Transgression

Chapter 22 The Bug Doctor

Chapter 23 Secrets

Chapter 24 Final Goodbye

Chapter 25 Christmas Miracle

Chapter 26 Facing Fear

Chapter 27 Forgiveness

Chapter 28 Hope

Discussion Questions

Customer Reviews