Best of Art Garfunkel [Germany]

Best of Art Garfunkel [Germany]

by Art GarfunkelArt Garfunkel

CD(German Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


It's a scandal that Sony Music's American catalog only offers a late '80s vintage compilation of Art Garfunkel's music, limited to 12 songs and indifferently mastered even by the standards of the time; meanwhile, Sony's British catalog has released this 20-song collection which, though it's not perfect, does offer upgraded sound along with a solid cross-section of Garfunkel's best work across 25 years of solo music-making. There are holes, to be sure, and not every track off of the U.S. best-of is represented -- where are "All I Know" and "Two Sleepy People," to name but two? -- but at least it's a step in the right direction for an artist who is deserving of the respect implicit in an ambitious release of this kind. Though the absent songs are, indeed, very much missed, the clean, bright mastering of "I Believe," "Disney Girls," "She Moved Through the Fair," "Watermark," "Break Away," "Miss You Nights," and "Crying in the Rain" makes this worth picking up, at least until Sony Music gets around to upgrading its American catalog. The clarity and crispness, and the vivid textures bring out a greater, silky purity in Garfunkel's voice than has ever before been evident on CD, and a presence to the accompaniment that leaves one more impressed than ever with these tracks as an art form in themselves, very much like Simon & Garfunkel's post-1965 productions. There is no annotation to speak of, but the quality of the audio justifies this disc -- if someone were to come up with a double-CD set that combined the non-overlapping tracks from this, Up 'Til Now, and the U.S. best-of in this quality, that would be the only Garfunkel package anyone needed.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/26/2005
Label: Columbia Europe
UPC: 5099749147324
catalogNumber: 491473
Rank: 34917


  1. Bright Eyes
  2. Break Away
  3. I Believe (When I Fall in Love It Will Be Forever)
  4. Disney Girls
  5. Miss You Nights
  6. She Moved Through the Fair
  7. Scissors Cut
  8. Since I Don't Have You
  9. Watermark
  10. (What A) Wonderful World
  11. When a Man Loves a Woman
  12. Looking for the Right One
  13. I Only Have Eyes for You
  14. Crying in the Rain (Duet with James Taylor)
  15. Another Lullaby
  16. 99 Miles from L.A.
  17. A Heart in New York
  18. Saturday Suit
  19. Why Worry
  20. Crying in My Sleep

Album Credits

Customer Reviews