Bad Medicine: Catching New York's Deadliest Pill Pusher

Bad Medicine: Catching New York's Deadliest Pill Pusher

by Charlotte Bismuth

Hardcover

$28.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 3

Overview

“Charlotte Bismuth gives us a bold and cinematic true crime story about her work at the intersection of medicine and greed. Bad Medicine is a gripping memoir that toggles deftly between the personal and prosecutorial.” Beth Macy, New York Times bestselling author of Dopesick

Bismuth has written a brilliant account of prosecuting a doctor who became a drug dealer in a white coat. She is haunted by the voices of the dead and listening closely to the voices of the living.” —Nan Goldin, artist, activist, and founder of P.A.I.N.

Bad Medicine is a taut exploration of America’s deadly battle with opioid addiction—an unnerving and inspirational firecracker of a book.” —Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Ghosts of Eden Park

For fans of Dopesick and Bad Blood, the shocking story of New York’s most infamous pill-pushing doctor, written by the prosecutor who brought him down.

In 2010, a brave whistleblower alerted the police to Dr. Stan Li’s corrupt pain management clinic in Queens, New York. Li spent years supplying more than seventy patients a day with oxycodone and Xanax, trading prescriptions for cash. Emergency room doctors, psychiatrists, and desperate family members warned him that his patients were at risk of death but he would not stop.

In Bad Medicine, former prosecutor Charlotte Bismuth meticulously recounts the jaw dropping details of this criminal case that would span four years, culminating in a landmark trial. As a new assistant district attorney and single mother, Bismuth worked tirelessly with her team to bring Dr. Li to justice. Bad Medicine is a chilling story of corruption and greed and an important look at the role individual doctors play in America’s opioid epidemic.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781982116422
Publisher: Atria/One Signal Publishers
Publication date: 01/19/2021
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 204,838
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

Charlotte Bismuth started her legal career at the firm of Debevoise & Plimpton, LLP, and joined the New York County District Attorney’s Office in 2008 as an appellate attorney. In 2010, she transferred into the Office of the Special Narcotics Prosecutor, which prosecutes felony narcotics crimes within the City’s five boroughs. She is a graduate of Columbia University, Columbia Law School, and the Instituts d’etudes politiques in Paris. She lives in New York City with her husband and children.

Table of Contents

The People xi

About This Book xiii

Chapter 1 The One to Start With 1

Chapter 2 Sick Little Body 17

Chapter 3 One of the Good Ones 39

Chapter 4 Three Years, Eight Months, Two Days 57

Chapter 5 Who's with Me? 77

Chapter 6 The Fruits of Our Labor 102

Chapter 7 Soft Targets 124

Chapter 8 Modern Medicine 154

Chapter 9 Hope in a Bottle 179

Chapter 10 Civil War 193

Chapter 11 The Gatekeepers 212

Chapter 12 Fireworks 238

Chapter 13 The Kougasian Rule 255

Chapter 14 Angel 276

Chapter 15 May It Please the Court 287

Chapter 16 Sorry for the Loss 304

Epilogue 325

Author's Note 333

Notes 340

Index 345

Customer Reviews