Pub. Date:
Among the Missing: An Anecdotal History of Missing Persons from 1800 to the Present

Among the Missing: An Anecdotal History of Missing Persons from 1800 to the Present

by Jay Robert Nash

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99 $19.99 Save 25% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 25%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The endless mystery of Amelia Earhart's last flight. The mysterious disappearance of Judge Joseph Force Crater. The vanishing acts of Agatha Christie, Sherwood Anderson and Aimee Semple McPherson. The lost adventurers - Colonel Percy Fawcett, Richard Halliburton, and George Leigh-Mallory. These famous faces and hundreds more make up this fascinating and fact-filled book. Along with the cases that made national and worldwide headlines, there are the exotic stories of infamous or until now obscure missing persons which read like captivating mystery, adventure, and sometimes science fiction tales. There is the case of New York heiress Dorothy Arnold, who vanished forever while crossing Fifth Avenue during a day of shopping. And David Lang, who according to 5 eyewitnesses, evaporated into thin air on a Tennessee country road in 1880. Then there was Arthur Orton, who insisted until his last breath that he was Roger Charles Tichborne, the scion of one of England's oldest families, whose vast holdings brought him a million dollars a year until he mysteriously disappeared with the ship Bella in 1854. The stories of those who returned from the world of the missing are often the most bizarre. The book contains all the elements of high human drama: love, vengeance, avarice, adventure, mystery, violence, sex, and murder.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781590775233
Publisher: M. Evans & Company
Publication date: 02/03/1978
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 446
Sales rank: 1,009,703
File size: 9 MB

About the Author

Jay Robert Nash is the bestselling author of Bloodletters and Badmen, Hustlers and Con Men, and the Almanac of True Crime. He received a special Edgar Allen Poe award in 1991 for his Encyclopedia of World Crime. He lives in Wilmette, Illinois.

Table of Contents

1. Escape to Love
2. Dark Laughter
3. Strange SIrens Calling
4. Carried Away
5. Exit Into Evil
6. Murder Unseen
7. The Search for Wealth
8. They Knew Too Much
9. No Reason at All
10. Stepping Right Up
11. The Message from On-High
12. A Family Matter
13. Eerie Specters
14. Rackets and Ruses
15. The Searchers
A Chronology of Missing Persons

Customer Reviews