A Spoonful of Frogs: A Halloween Book for Kids

A Spoonful of Frogs: A Halloween Book for Kids

A Spoonful of Frogs: A Halloween Book for Kids

A Spoonful of Frogs: A Halloween Book for Kids

Hardcover

$13.99 $17.99 Save 22% Current price is $13.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 22%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 15

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

What's been prepared for you today is ... a cauldron full of laugh-out-loud creepiness and seriously spooky storytelling. Casey Lyall and Vera Brosgol concocted a Halloween treat with a shelf life that never expires and will toad-ally satisfy the most discerning palettes. Told through the lens of a television cooking show, a witch tries to incorporate a frog in her recipe, but things don't go as planned. A Spoonful of Frogs can be paired nicely with the Pig the Pug series, Room on the Broom and Gustavo, the Shy Ghost.

Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the Broom.

A witch’s favorite treat is frog soup. Luckily, it’s healthy and easy to make. To give it that extra kick and a pop of color, the key ingredient is a spoonful of frogs. But how do you keep the frogs on the spoon? They hop, they leap, they hide . . . and they escape. What is a poor witch to do?

Casey Lyall is a master of comedic timing with her deceptively simple and energetic text, and Caldecott Honor winnerVera Brosgol’s vibrant, hilarious illustrations make the witch—and the frogs!—practically leap off the page. The solution to the witch’s dilemma will surprise and delight young readers and their parents alike.

Teeming with laugher and hijinks, A Spoonful of Frogs is pure fun from beginning to end. A must-have for young readers, parents, witches, frog-lovers, and aspiring chefs. 



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062890290
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 07/19/2022
Pages: 40
Sales rank: 2,953
Product dimensions: 8.60(w) x 11.00(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Casey Lyall is the author of the acclaimed middle grade series Howard Wallace, P.I. She lives in southwestern Ontario, Canada, where she also works at her local library. Her favorite soup is chicken soup with LOTS of potatoes, and her favorite frog is the red-eyed tree frog.


Vera Brosgol received a Caldecott Honor for her picture book Leave Me Alone! She is also the acclaimed author and artist of Memory Jars, The Little Guys, and the graphic novels Anya’s Ghost and Be Prepared. Her favorite soup is borscht, and her favorite frog is the hourglass frog. Vera Brosgol lives in Portland, Oregon.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items