A Psalm for the Wild-Built: A Monk and Robot Book

A Psalm for the Wild-Built: A Monk and Robot Book

by Becky Chambers

Narrated by Em Grosland

Unabridged — 4 hours, 8 minutes

A Psalm for the Wild-Built: A Monk and Robot Book

A Psalm for the Wild-Built: A Monk and Robot Book

by Becky Chambers

Narrated by Em Grosland

Unabridged — 4 hours, 8 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$10.44
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.44, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Get an extra 10% off all audiobooks in June to celebrate Audiobook Month! Some exclusions apply. See details here.

Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $10.44 $10.99

Overview

"Narrator Emmett Grosland conjures the essence of a troubled soul in search of peace in this gentle audio."-AudioFile Magazine

In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, Hugo Award-winner Becky Chambers's delightful new Monk and Robot series gives us hope for the future.


It's been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since they faded into myth and urban legend.

One day, the life of a tea monk is upended by the arrival of a robot, there to honor the old promise of checking in. The robot cannot go back until the question of "what do people need?" is answered.

But the answer to that question depends on who you ask, and how.

They're going to need to ask it a lot.

Becky Chambers's new series asks: in a world where people have what they want, does having more matter?

A Macmillan Audio production from Tordotcom


Editorial Reviews

SEPTEMBER 2021 - AudioFile

Narrator Em Grosland conjures the essence of a troubled soul in search of peace in this gentle audio. Tea monk Dex has devoted years of their life to easing the burdens of others while struggling to find their own greater purpose. A chance encounter with a robot named Mosscap sets both monk and robot on a journey of discovery about what people need. But the interplay of voices for both Dex and Mosscap is delightful, as both characters are impulsive and emotive. And Grosland keeps the listener aware of who is speaking through subtle shifts in pitch and style, even when the pair are arguing at top speed. N.M. © AudioFile 2021, Portland, Maine

Publishers Weekly

02/08/2021

Hugo Award winner Chambers (the Wayfarers series) launches the Monk and Robot series with this contemplative, bite-size novel. Hundreds of years ago, when the robots of Panga first gained sentience, they chose to retreat from human society rather than live in it as free citizens—and they haven’t been seen since. When Sibling Dex, a tea monk, leaves The City, Panga’s only metropolis, to travel the countryside offering tea and a listening ear to anyone who needs it, they are forced to acknowledge a deep sense of dissatisfaction with their life. Seeking solitude, they venture into the protected wilderness zone, where no human has set foot in centuries. Their plans quickly go awry when they are approached by Mosscap, an inquisitive robot elected by its fellows to make first contact with humanity and find the answer to the question: what do humans need? Written with all of Chambers’ characteristic nuance and careful thought, this is a cozy, wholesome meditation on the nature of consciousness and its place in the natural world. Fans of gentle, smart, and hopeful science fiction will delight in this promising series starter. (Jul.)

From the Publisher

A USA Today Bestseller!

A Mountains & Plains Independent Booksellers Association Bestseller!

A Locus Award Finalist!

A Brooklyn Public Library Book Prize Finalist!

An Indie Bestseller!

A Psalm for the Wild-Built begins a series that looks optimistic and hopeful, pursuing stories that arise from abundance instead of scarcity, kindness instead of cruelty, and I look forward to seeing where it goes from here.” —NPR

“The gentle touch with which Chambers handles her material makes the book's loftiest philosophical aims feel grounded. With a pervading sense of optimism and warmth, A Psalm for the Wild-Built inaugurates an exciting series from one of science fiction's brightest stars.” —Shelf Awareness starred review

“Hugo Award–winning author Becky Chambers begins a new series with this delightful and quietly philosophical novella that presents a hopeful glimpse into a future where humanity actually does the right thing.” —Buzzfeed

“Chambers’ writing is always tender and healing, but this book has something else braided into it — something more... This is a book that, for one night, made me stop asking ‘what am I even for?’ I’m prescribing a preorder to anyone who has ever felt lost. Stunning, kind, necessary.” —Sarah Gailey

"This was an optimistic vision of a lush, beautiful world that came back from the brink of disaster. Exploring it with the two main characters was a fun and fascinating experience.” —Martha Wells

"I'm the world's biggest fan of odd couple buddy road trips in science fiction, and this odd couple buddy road trip is a delight: funny, thoughtful, touching, sweet, and one of the most humane books I've read in a long time. We could all use a read like this right now." —Sarah Pinsker

"I read this book in one sitting when I was having a really wretched day, and it helped. It felt like a warm cup of tea made by someone who loves me. It's a soft hug of a book, and it says 'It's okay if you're not okay right now.' It made me cry the good sort of tears—the sort when someone is unexpectedly kind to you at the moment you need it most." —Alexandra Rowland

"A joyful experience and, as with all of Chambers’s books, I was left with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside." —New Scientist

“The first book in Chambers’ new series feels like a moment to breathe, a novel that exists to give readers a place to rest and think… Recommended for fans of Chambers’ Wayfarers series and The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune.” —Booklist Starred Review

"Written with all of Chambers’ characteristic nuance and careful thought, this is a cozy, wholesome meditation on the nature of consciousness and its place in the natural world. Fans of gentle, smart, and hopeful science fiction will delight in this promising series starter." —Publishers Weekly

Throw out that depresso for this cozy cup of tea.” —BuzzFeed

"I’m so pleased that this is the first of a series, and that there will be more of this world, because, wow, do I want more of it. This book is the type of reading experience I’d recommend to anyone having a hard time, which might be a lot of people at this point... it’s a comforting story about comfort and care, as soothing to read as it is to think about, and so full of hope and wonder and potential discovery. I hope you’ll try it." —Smart Bitches, Trashy Books

SEPTEMBER 2021 - AudioFile

Narrator Em Grosland conjures the essence of a troubled soul in search of peace in this gentle audio. Tea monk Dex has devoted years of their life to easing the burdens of others while struggling to find their own greater purpose. A chance encounter with a robot named Mosscap sets both monk and robot on a journey of discovery about what people need. But the interplay of voices for both Dex and Mosscap is delightful, as both characters are impulsive and emotive. And Grosland keeps the listener aware of who is speaking through subtle shifts in pitch and style, even when the pair are arguing at top speed. N.M. © AudioFile 2021, Portland, Maine

Product Details

BN ID: 2940172862014
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication date: 07/13/2021
Series: Monk & Robot , #1
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 550,500
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews